We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and a good place to settle into the Aussie way of life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seashells Scarborough
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Although the rooms are a bit tired and in need of refurbishing don't let this put you off.
The location, space and facilities more than make up for it.
The road is busy at weekends but not with fast moving traffic, everyone is cruising!
We found it relaxing and good to return to after a busy day out.
There is a good supermarket five minutes walk away for all you might need.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSS, General Manager at Seashells Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear linandmark,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jemma Moran
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Seashells is located directly across from Scarborough beach. However, don't let the promotional material fool you - there is a busy street and carpark between the accommodation and the beach, yet the promotional photo would have you believe the apartments are just behind the sand dunes!

The apartment we stayed in was a two bedroom apartment one the same level as the pool. Our neighbour spent most of his time on his balcony smoking and drinking making it unpleasant for us to sit outside or to leave the doors open for fresh air.

The units are decorated according to the owners tastes and our unit was full of "beach" pictures and wall hangings and some of the fittings were painted white and then partially sanded to look shabby chic. We found the kitchen at the back of the apartment to be dark and dingy and the bathroom smelt damp. The "spa" was a small bathtub with spa jets and we weren't keen to use as didn't look clean at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familyof4CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice, roomy apartments with fantastic view over the ocean. Do need a bit of upgrade on furniture and kitchenware.Almost impossible to cook on old pots and pans. Small pool, but fresh and ok for a few hours. The cleanliness of the apartment could be better and we would have wished for cleaning more than once a week. Overall good, but could be better!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaTeern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

These apartments are set right in front of Scarborough Beach, perfectly located, they are large and well equipped and very clean. Our apartment was 2 bed/2bathroom with even a small utility room with washer/dryer, a good sized kitchen and lounge dining are with nice big balcony with great view of the seafront. The main bedroom also having its own balcony with sea views, to the rear of the building their are views of the swimming pool and plenty of private parking located underneath the building. The reception staff are also very pleasant. There was always plenty of room in the swimming pool which also has a bbq area.Certainly a very enjoyable stay here. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robins19087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We absolutely Love Seashells.
We are regular visitors to this wonderful Place and have had the Pleasure in staying in all their lovely Rooms including Sandcastles next door.
Staff are always so welcoming and inviting and always go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Can not speak highly enough of the wonderful Maori lady at Reception, sadly have never asked for her name but walking into Seashells and seeing her there makes you feel like your coming home to family. She is absolutely lovely and a Credit to the Company.
We have recommended Seashells to many family and friends and since some have begun to visit, they are all of the same opinion as me... Seashells is the best place to stay in Scarbrough !!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and 2 children stayed here.

GOOD
Location is fantastic - right across the road from the beach
Supermakert Coles is close by
Great restaurants/Pub within walking distance
Lovely view from the room

BAD
Staff not at all helpful. We checked in and given very brioef instructions on where our apt was - we struggled to find it - very frustrating when you are hot and have your luggage

Room was very very tired and definately in need of a decent clean

Shower was a dribble and bathroom was very run down

Balcony was so small we could not all fit/sit out on it!!

Pool was very small for the size of the complex but this could be because the beach is right across the road.

Would I stay here again - probably not as way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoneseyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at Seashells. We were staying the 'collections' apartments which is a fancy way of saying dodgy and run down. We have been on a 2 week trip around WA and this was the most we had to pay so I was expecting something pretty nice. It was really disappointing. Very run down. Paint peeling off the doors and walls. I followed the instructions on how to use the hot water system but found the shower was still scalding or freezing. It was very dark throughout the whole apartment. There were fans in both rooms but they made a loud noise on anything higher than low. We had emailed the day before requesting our room to be ready an hour earlier because we needed to put our baby down for a sleep. I was told no guarantees which is fair enough. When we arrived to check in, the receptionist was rude and we were told that the room wasn't ready and they were very busy. I get this, but given we had given some notice, and check out in 10am, how hard can it be to get the room ready an hour earlier??
Overall, there are plenty of options along the beautiful Scarborough beach. Don't select this one- there's better out there.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the others but avoid the collections
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
83 reviews
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Scarborough

Address: 178 The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: £94 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Scarborough 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashells Scarborough is located on Western Australia’s Sunset Coast, only a short 15 minute drive from Perth city centre, Fremantle, Hillary’s Harbour and Challenge Stadium. Directly overlooking Scarborough Beach, each Seashells apartment enjoys stunning ocean views from individual and spacious balconies. Whether you’re watching yachts sail by, or simply enjoying the surf and beach – it’s the ultimate place to relax as the sun slowly sets over the Indian Ocean. A short stroll away there are plenty of shops to explore, beachfront cafes, restaurants and lively bars. Our apartments have been renovated in 2011 to create even more unspoilt beach views and up market furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Seashells Scarborough is the national winner of the 2003/04 Australian Tourism Awards, in the category Deluxe Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seashells Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Seashells Serviced Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing