We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of West Beach Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Beach Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Menai, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for 12 days and found the rooms very comfortable. I stayed on the beach side, but my colleagues stayed on the road side and found it to be a bit noisy from the traffic. We had our rooms serviced once in that time, but could help yourself to anything you required in between, towels, soaps etc. it has a BBQ and a pool which are very nice and cleaned daily. There is also an Indian restaurant which is connected to the motel and was delicious. Also it is a 2 minute walk to the hotel on the corner which we frequent. There are quite a few restaurants in the area in walking distance. There is also hamburger joints and pizza shops. The beach is straight across the road and very accessible by foot.
I would not hesitate to return to this motel. If you wanted something a bit more fancy you could go to the quest appartment right next door, but you will pay a lot more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    27
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
21
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Bouvard
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked in for three nights Xmas Eve, Xmas Day & Boxing Day(night). This was our second visit & weren't disappointed. The location was ideal for our purposes as family & friends' visits were on the agenda. The apartment was fully self-contained with all amenities. The first bedroom had a double bed & the second a smaller single for an infant. A large pool was evident with a water slide, & a BBQ area nearby.
As mentioned - the location was ideal, within an easy walk to Scarborough beach & a number of Cafes & Restaurants nearby. The apartment cost $175 per night, but considering all you needed were your clothes & something to cook( if you wished) we thought this was quite reasonable.

Depending on where you want to be & where you want to go, you probably couldn't get a more perfect location. I have read mixed reviews about this resort & the only reason I gave it three out of five is because it was looking a tad tired - you could, however, not fault the cleanliness.

Finally, the noise level wasn't too bad as the Management has strict requirements after 9.00pm - i.e. keep it down.

Room Tip: Unfortunately there are only a hand full of apartments with ocean views - I suggest you try & ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToadPortBouvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Dropped into the West Beach Lagoon for a night on a trip north for work, and was taken aback when pulling into the driveway of this place.

It was a budget choice, but like the previous reviewer the aged fit-out was surprising (and we were upgraded to a nicer room).

The pool area is ok, however we were sent packing when an older couple couldn't contain their romance in the pool... not the type of thing we were happy to sit and watch!

As far as the room went, it was basic and like the rest of the hotel in dire need of an update. It was relatively clean, had everything that you needed but was a very odd lay-out.

In future I would look elsewhere and make the jump to a more expensive hotel in the hopes that it was a big gap between prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff2231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We only stayed here based on price, so we weren't expecting much but we were still taken back by the poor condition. The exterior is very run down, the internal fixtures matched but there was nice furniture in the lounge area it was very odd. No effective air conditioning, there was a box one on the floor in the lounge behind the curtains but we didn't try turning it on as there was now way it could cope with 30+ C temps and direct afternoon sun. The bathroom had us laughing it was so bad, it must have been 40 years old and never touched. The plumbing was from this era too. Water leaks everywhere, vanity basin and toilet pan both with huge cracks. Ok curtains but dirty carpet. The oldest blankets still in use, I can't recall the last time I saw a tartan wool blanket on a bed, childhood memories. The whole place was so run down that you couldn't tell if it was clean or dirty. It may have been clean but it sure didn't feel it. Even based on price I couldn't recommend it. If we hadn't prepaid we would have left. Chalk this one up as an experience! I can't see how it could be rated as 3.5 star, that star system is meaningless, I'd be generous giving this place 2 stars. But on the good side, the staff were friendly and efficient and did a good job. We basically only slept there so in the grand scheme of things we did save a couple of hundred dollars for the 3 nights we stayed and it has given us something to talk about.

Room Tip: Good rooms are somewhere else, these are cheap rooms and nothing else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiloftheTropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A self contained apt with all the amenities needed, nice and airy if a small bit chilly. Fab view of the ocean and i got to see some terrific sunsets and sunrises. The pool and Jacuzzi were a big hit with my partner, absolutely no complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The apartment was old but comfortable and clean. The kitchen had the equipment i needed for the 6 nights and the bed was comfortable. It is a lot cheaper than the other options in the area and I still had a view of the ocean. If you are looking for a modern apartment to sit around in, this may not be for you but as I was there on business and working all day, i was happy with the easy access free parking and friendly staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 166Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed here for five nights. After telling the reception staff the first night that there was a noise in the plumbing like someone flushing the toilet every 15 minutes above my apartment (I was on the top floor) and me not getting much sleep I was told to "see how we go the next night and if still the same then could get another room" - as if spending another sleepless night would make it anh better!!!! Air con is old and doesn't cope with the room size or temperatures - even after a a full day on maximum cooling there was no obvious temperature change in the room. Everything is very dated, especially the bed and mattress. By far the worst I have ever slept on!!!! On the positive side everything was clean and the fridge is cooling nicely. Good assortment of cutlery and even salt and pepper. Close to beach, but no views at all. The restaurant that looks like it is part of the resort is NOT and doesn't charge back to the room, but they have nice food and take Amex. Pool looks nice and clean and inviting. Might be ok for families on a budget, but wouldn't recommend it for business travelers. NO room service!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frqnttraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
74 reviews
11.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
207 reviews
11.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Lagoon

Property: West Beach Lagoon
Address: 251 West Coast Hwy, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly "Comfort Inn & Suites")
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Beach Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your West Beach Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Lagoon Scarborough
Comfort Inn And Suites West Beach Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing