We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian Ocean Hotel - stuck in the 70's” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indian Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Campbelltown, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Indian Ocean Hotel - stuck in the 70's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I should have been wary when I read that the hotel was described as "Modernistic 70's"

I recently stayed at this "tired" hotel, due to a last minute trip to attend a funeral in WA.

The rating on Wotif seemed OK and it did include breakfast. As I had to stay 3 nights, the "3 night" package seemed just right and the price was OK (it was only me staying - how bad could it be ? ) - yeah right.

I arrived very late (11:30pm after flight and drive from the airport). Check in was Ok as it was all booked on Wotif, but I had to pay a $100 bond / deposit - just in case (not sure what this would be for as there is no Mini Bar (in fact you are prohibited from brining alcohol onto the premises). Anyway I was tired and wanted to go to bed.

Before I slept, I wanted to iron - very hard on a 2 1/2 foot long "ironing board" (see photos). Anyway I managed and crashed for the night.

Bed was comforatable - I will give them that, but he room is stuck well and truly in the 70's - it has been upgraded with new double glazed windows (found out I needed them the next night) but the rest of the room is dark brown wood and bricks (again, see the photos).

Breakfast the next morning was "continental" - cook you own toast (in a VERY old toaster) make your own instant coffee or tea, and some juice. Oh well - breakfast was included.

With the Funeral over, I eventually came back to crash again, only to find that my room overlooks the seating area at the back of the adjoining Tavern / nightspot called the Indi. Very noisy, even with the double glazing, but at least they did stop at a reasonable hour (around midnight I think). However the adjoining room decided to begin love making at 4am - very thin walls in this hotel - did not leave a lot to the imagination or allow for much sleep.

The next morning I decided to make a cup of tea in my room - only to find what looks like pubic hair in the saucer of the cups set in the room - needless to say I did not drink anything in the room for the rest of the stay.

The bathroom is small but functional, as long as you put you knees in your chest to use the loo.

I have read all of the other comments about this hotel and they talk about the friendly staff - apart from checking in and checkin out, I did not speak to anyone (nor did anyone even say hello to me).... strange but true.

They say you get what you pay for - please read this and check the photos before making a decision to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    59
    61
    23
    30
See reviews for
19
80
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

After staying here a few times now I would go back again and again. I love having the indie bar downstairs with the pool at the back. Also the rooms are clean and functional. The staff are friendly.

I arrived at the hotel one night to find a band playing in the bar after working a 12hour day i needed sleep. The music didn't even bother me/

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and have enjoyed every stay. The staff are really friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The superior rooms are spacious and well appointed while the standard are small but comfortable and very affordable. The restaurant serves lovely meals and there is often a live band playing in the bar. The hotel is only two blocks from Scarborough beach, restaurants, shops, etc so is well located. Will be staying there whenever I'm in Perth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValAhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
228 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

A 70's era hotel that has aged 41 yrs with all the 1970's colour and decor. It wasn't the Ritz but for the special $99 a night we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were tidy and clean. Easy to access, it was one street away from the beach. Venturing out north and south of Perth was easy. There are many competitive hotels with modern era facilities but with a price tag to match. We were comfortable, warm, friendly staff and all the amenities you would expect. Meals were from the restaurant. Complimentary continental and cooked if you wanted to pay the little extra. For my dollars worth, I would stay here again. Had a secure car park as well.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mykara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

A family run hotel and it comes through with very good levels of service. Nothing seemed too much trouble; there is 24 hour reception which was always courteous. There is a lively bar and a restaurant with a good menu. Some of the rooms are dated; the hotel is going through a modernisation so hopefully the older rooms will be improved. Our room had some quirky features, the most notable being that in order to open the bathroom cabinet which had a sliding door it was necessary to take the hairdryer off the wall as it prevented the cabinet door from opening. If arriving late at night there is a chillier opposite reception offering cold beer and wine and if you desire anything more substantial than crisps or chocolates there is a 24 garage selling pies, sandwiches etc. a block down the road.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra to get a room facing the swimming pool as these are larger and bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank putneyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Great hotel, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, easy access to all areas surrounding, nice receptionists when you first come to check in. and affordable.
I really liked the coffee corner and the oven in the room.
If you're not into luxury but a comfortable room - this hotel is for you.


Overall - fantastic experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a good stay at this hotel. The bed was huge and comfy and the bathroom was clean and okay but there wasn’t much room for knees when sitting on the loo!

There’s a great pub downstairs that plays live music and has a great vibe and your windows are double glazed so not a peep enters your room. The pub shuts at midnight anyway so there’s no issues there.

We could just see the ocean from our room and it was a short walk to the beach.
Great value for money, would recommend to mates.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicialicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Property: Indian Ocean Hotel
Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing