We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, Quiet Location, Good Rooms, Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, Quiet Location, Good Rooms, Excellent Food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good Resort, with good facilities and clean spacious rooms. Great restaurant, service was good and food was superb, close to the beach and shops as well, would recommend the resort, for all sorts of travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Front Office Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Simon H,

Many thanks for the feedback you have provided following your recent stay at Sunmoon Boutique Resort.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as your experience at Sunmoon Restaurant & Bar, and the team were very happy to hear that you found the service to be superb.

Once again, many thanks for your wonderful comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunmoon in the future.

Kind regards,
Romina
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    77
    59
    34
    45
See reviews for
44
114
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is in a very central location - walking distance to shops and beach. The staff were most accommodating throughout our stay, unfailingly polite and helpful. The rooms, however were very small, dark and basic. Most have connecting doors - this was once a back packers and it is still very obvious by the rabbit warren layout of the premises - and of the very few that don't, the noise still carries. You can hear your neighbour's every word whilst in your room. Our room was out the back and was quieter than most others. The bathroom layout was such that the shower had no door and therefore flooded the entire bathroom, whenever it was used. The only solution was for housekeeping to provide extra towels to be laid out on the floor. The room itself was extremely dark, and the lights were very dim. A great shame that you felt like you were in a dark bunker when there was 32 degrees of sunshine outside throughout the day. This hotel is certainly not cheap - others nearby offer better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachgirlalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Front Office Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Beachgirlalways,

Many thanks for taking time to review Sunmoon Boutique Resort following your recent stay with us. Our staff were very grateful for the lovely comments you made about them.

We appreciate your comments regarding the size and lighting in the rooms as well as the bathroom and will be reviewing these issues with our maintenance department, though i will point out that the premises was not once a back packers.

Once again, we do appreciate your feedback and take this all on board, and we hope that you might try one of our other room types on a future stay.

Kind regards,
Romina
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Dunsborough, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great place to stay.. Staff were fantastic, offering to carry luggage and accomodating in any way possible. Room was cleaned daily and of a very high standard.
Close to the beach and amenities, Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Front Office Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to Sunmoon Boutique Resort. The team really do appreciate your wonderful comments and were very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience.

We hope to see you at Sunmoon again soon, please do let us know if you decide to re book with us.

Have a lovely day!

Kind regards,
Romina
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I recently had the pleasure of spending 10 nights at the Sunmoon Resort at Scarborough Beach and I have never had better customer service. The staff,from the restaurant through to Reception and Housekeeping, are absolutely brilliant- nothing is too much trouble, they are so pleasant to talk to and their local knowledge is fantastic. I am shortly going back to Perth for another extended stay and will be booking into this small but ultra friendly resort, and I recommend it to everyone who wants to stay in Perth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Jacqui W

We thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to The Sunmoon Boutique Resort. The team really do appreciate your lovely comments and were very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience over the 10 days that you were in residence with us.

Please do keep in touch with us when you rebook to stay, we will be looking out for your reservation and will be excited to see you return!

Have a lovely weekend in the meantime and we look forward to speaking soon.

Kind regards
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very Impressed!

I would just like to extend my warmest thanks to the team at Sunmoon. I recently had my 30th Birthday in their alfresco function area and it couldn’t of gone more perfectly.
The staff were wonderful and I received many comments from family and friends saying also how impressed they were with the food the amount of food and the service.

A Personal thanks to Michael for making it all happen

Thank you again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Lucas

Thank you so much for your kind note. The team are delighted that you all had a lovely evening on the night!

It was our pleasure looking after you and delighted to hear of the great feedback about the food quality and the service.

See you soon at The Sunmoon.

Best Wishes
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here the night of our wedding (July 2012) and we had a good time :) The room was big and the stylish and the bathroom had a whirlpool ;) The complex is very nice too. We also got a bottle of sparkling wine as a present for our wedding... Breakfast was good and the waitress was very friendly. The only downside was that the guy from the housekeeping, knocked on the door and came in straight away without waiting for an answer. As we checked out the couple at the reception was complaining about the same thing. The reception didn't really care!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkehhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words following your stay at The Sunmoon Boutique Resort . I was so glad to read that we met your expectations across a number of different areas. We assume you did stay in July 2013 as oppose to July 2012..

We are sorry to hear that our housekeeping team appear to have entered your bedroom without knocking and will take time to reiterate this with our team in housekeeping. For the benefit of other readers we always would encourage guests to use the "do not disturb" sign for additional privacy. I was also equally concerned to read that you felt reception showed a lack of interest in your comments, we do have a very considerate team at reception but do accept we can always be better at everything we do, many thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us.

Overall it is really nice to read that you had a lovely stay, we look forward to seeing you again at the Sunmoon!

Yours sincerely
Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We booked on wotif as a last minute stay at Scarborough . 2 night spa balcony special deal . Had no idea what to expect. What a pleasant surprise. Very impressive boutique hotel. Lovely staff , very helpfully, great pool. Location across road from the beach . Shops , cafes . Lovely bar and restaurant and gardens. Was given a room facing the west coast highway and beach at front of hotel on the 2nd floor. Room had a balcony which I loved . It was relaxing and didn't feel like being stuck in a hotel room with no open windows or doors for air. The balcony has 2 doors to close. We did not hear and traffic at all . The room was spacious. Lovely linen. Luxury thick towels and fluffy robes . Spa bath also which we didn't use . Tastefully decorated rooms . Checked out of room and the maintenance man approached us introduced himself and said can I give you a hand with your suitcases. Mum and myself . He took the case downstairs to the front reception . Loved it . We will be back . Mrs Ross

Room Tip: Spa balcony room recommended . Spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Sunmoon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Darl88

We are very grateful for your lovely review and description of various services here at the Hotel, thank you so much.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company again soon.

With all good wishes,

Michael Cheung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
West Beach Lagoon
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunmoon Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunmoon Boutique Resort

Property: Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Address: 200 West Coast Hwy, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunmoon Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunmoon Boutique Resort is a 4 star resort located just a minutes walk from Perth's beautiful Sunset Coast and Scarborough Beach. Located only 15 min drive to Perth CBD, the Sunmoon offers a great option for Northern Suburbs Corporate guests with offices in Osborne Park, Innaloo and Balcatta. Holiday guests will enjoy the environmentally friendly design with water features, lush tropical gardens, fish ponds, swimming pool, licensed restaurant open for breakfast and dinner with function & conference facilities available. With 45 hotel style or self contained rooms, some with spas or balconies the Sunmoon is suitable for both the holiday maker & business traveller and offers a resort style outdoor swimming pool, gym and full hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunmoon Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunmoon Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing