We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice interior, something different.”
Review of Matisse Beach Club

Matisse Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 52 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The award winning Matisse Beach Club is a unique, architecturally designed hospitality venue where our guests can escape and experience quality food and beverages delivered by market leading service initiatives, in resort like surroundings. All while taking in the sweeping ocean views & famous Scarborough sunset. In addition to our beach bar and dining areas we offer chic cabanas with daybeds which can be pre-booked online. Resort inspired casual dining is available throughout the venue and you can also make a reservation in our dedicated dining area for lunch or dinner. Matisse is also a perfect unique backdrop for your next celebration or function. We look forward to welcoming you, day or night!
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice interior, something different.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The design is quite cool, matching cups, pillows and signage. It's different for Perth. Plastic everything due to the small pool. Only came for a few Friday drinks so no big night or dinner. Nice for a pint after work.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank buttons81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    77
    16
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Breath of Fresh Air in Perth”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wow, Perth is getting there eventually. What a lovely and unique place! I heard so many things and just had to experience it for myself. We had 2 groups of friends here, visiting from overseas and we took them to Matisse, amongst other places. Needless to say I am writing this review after being at Matisse more than once and with different groups of people. We loved it, in a nutshell...... Clean, funky, great atmosphere, nice patrons(no bogans), we loved the pizzas and we had exceptional service. To the bad reviews about the plastic cups and glasses.... We live in a nanny state, there are swimming pools inside this venue and they don't have a choice, but to use plastic glasses, albeit very high quality!
Well done, Matisse Beach Club.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoy it whilst you can”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Coming from two locals who desperately want to see the Scarborough beach front come to life and realise its potential.....give us back the Lookout. No seriously, nobody wants sticky floors and emu export on tap nowadays...that said this venue would have been jam packed 20yrs ago on a day like today.
What is working well - it's funky, lots of different areas to hang out in, it has a swimming pool if you fancy it, pizzas are great, service (at the bar) is friendly. What is not working well - turning up for lunch at 1:30pm on a Monday, a well dressed couple in their 40's, to be I.D checked with a photo - not a great nor welcoming start, paid $26 for a beer and a house wine in plastic glasses, no table service. Trying to be, but not the Ivy. Bit of work to be done yet. best of luck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmyinferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the worst club I have ever been to. Don't come here if you want to have fun”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Had a few drinks. Started having fun. Staff took our bottle of veuve and wouldn't do anything about it. Don't come here. I will never come here again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Donny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exclusive Beach Club!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Treat yourself to a tropical paradise overlooking Scarborough Beach! Sip cocktails in fluorescent funky cabanas and beach lounges alongside several sparkling indoor pools. We booked the pink cabana for Sunday lunch which accommodated our group of nine ladies and was perfect for conversing with each other. Chosen meals of Seared Tasmanian Salmon Fillet, Free Range Chicken Breast, Handmade Potato Gnocchi and Club Sandwich were enjoyed by all. We re-booked the pink cabana for our next "girls day out" - escapism at its best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matisse Beach Club also viewed

 
Scarborough, Stirling
 

Been to Matisse Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing