We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My partner and I stayed here and we had a wonderful time. Denise is very welcoming and friendly. The room that we stayed in was very quant yet luxurious with beautiful furnishings. It was the little touches that made it such an enjoyable stay, such as the cookies in our room and the drinks and sweets in the reading room. The continental breakfast in the morning was very enjoyable and of a higher standard than some of the other places that I have stayed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here with a Groupon voucher in May and we were blown away by not only the immaculate presentation and effort put into the room but also the friendly and wonderful hosting by Denise. We loved everything about our stay - we took advantage of the complimentary bikes and spent the day lazily biking between wineries. Its all about the finer details at Alystone - the jar of cookies, the brandy in the reading room, heated towels and big fluffy pillows. I can't wait to stay here again - we were gutted we didn't book in to dine at the restaurant in advance as it was full the night we stayed, but the continental breakfast was great and well hosted. This is a perfect spot for a romantic getaway, and we will most definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was absolutely gorgeous and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Very comfortable accommodation and delightful hosts
All necessary amenities and great hosts who recommended a really nice restaraunt for us
Rooms have underfloor heating and electric blankets so we were very warm and cosy
No hesitation in recommending and the continental breakfast was great too

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pritchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Booked into the Aylstone for a night. Was lovely. Denise, the owner, is super friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Room was large, clean and very warm. Heated floors and electric blankets - was definitely a shock going outside the next morning!

Had a lovely time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liftmeupletmefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A beautiful stay and escape for a weekend. We stayed here years ago and- with a change of owners and a long time between stays- are so pleased that it's as brilliant as we remember it. Truly 5 stars. It's set in peaceful surroundings, quiet, alongside a neighbouring vineyard. It looks every bit as good as the photos on the website. The owners are wonderful- friendly, not intrusive, helpful recommendations, just lovely people. The restaurant on site is very good (we tried to book but it was full on Saturday night). Breakfast- continental- was excellent, a good range and with a gorgeous flat white. You're a small walk away from some of the best vineyards and they have complimentary bikes on site (also comp wifi). Enjoy!

Room Tip: They are all good. We had the smallest room- even then, it was spacious and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We had a lovely one night stay in a beautifully appointed room with welcome extras such as biscuits and chocolates on the pillow. The host, Denise, was very friendly and welcoming. We used the complimentary bikes and went for a ride around the area in glorious sunshine. The next morning we enjoyed a sumptious continental breakfast & played petanque before departing. We will come again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerploppus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

upon arriving in the rain we were made very welcome. Our room was really lovely and the underfloor heating made me forget about the rain. Denise made our stay very pleasant and I hope return later in the year. Everything about Aylstone is inviting, keep up the good work. sue :)

Room Tip: We had room 2, it was a lovely room but we discovered that there was a room directly above, very gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
23.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
131 reviews
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#2 of 3 in Greytown
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: £132 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing