We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Reviewed 16 February 2013

our room was gorgeous, and the location was perfect. The staff were amazing from start to finish - they gave us great recommendations for local wineries and restaurants, and were friendly and professional the entire time. More importantly, when our rental car broke down as we were preparing to leave, Bruce kindly offered to drive the 3 hour round trip to the airport to make sure we made our flight. Service like that is above and beyond all our expectations and I am so glad we went here for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meganwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

Denise and Bruce were wonderful hosts. Everything was perfect. They take pride in their property which was evident the moment we arrived. Our room (No 4) was immaculate, beautifully decorated and had a lovely outlook over the gardens and courtyard. Our stay with them over two nights set the scene for a wonderful trip around the North Island. Highly recommended! Gail & Daniel Staley

Room Tip: Room 4 was wonderful and Room 5 looked good as well. Neither are in the main house so a good feelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A friend and I spent two restful days at Aylestone in January and what a retreat it was! From the minute we arrived, Denise was a gracious host who met our every need and made our stay a very relaxing one. She offered us helpful information such as lunch at Poppies, a recently opened place a few minutes along the road, and this destination was easily reached on the complimentary bikes provided by Aylestone. We actually spent a whole day on these bikes, biking as far as Olivo and a visit with Helen and her wonderful infused wines (we purchased plenty and these were delivered back to our accommodation rather than carried on our bikes, courtesy of the helpful Helen), back to Poppies and then two vineyard visits with Ata Rangi and Te Kairanga. Our room at Aylestone was absolutely superb, beautifully decorated and lived up to the blurb of this boutique retreat. Our complimentary breakfasts set us up well for our days and this accommodation helped make Martinborough a destination we will once again visit. Maybe we will take our husbands next time....don't know what they will do while we enjoy the shops of Martinborough (Thrive, Struth and Soeur).

Room Tip: all rooms looked delightful, each with their own private outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed two nights in late December. The hosts, Denise and her husband were very friendly and helpful, giving us all the information we needed about wineries and restaurants. The room was immaculate, with a private verandah overlooking the vineyard next door. The grounds are fantastic, with a great breakfast room and common room where you sit down and relax by reading or playing board games. The town is equally impressive, with a great pub that does a steak and fries that any restaurant would be proud of and has a very good selection of the local wines at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a grand NZ tour. Everything was as we'd hoped, lovely room with a quit porch overlooking one of the many vineyards. Very warm, friendly and welcoming service from Denise. The bottle of fizz and sharing platter she put together for us on arrival was just fab! Only 5 mins out of Martinborough centre but seemingly totally removed makes it a great location too - retreat is a first class description! Great continental breakfast with very high class ingredients.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewP_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

French themed retreat about 10 - 15 minutes walk back into Martinborough. Rooms are large and tastefully decorated - ours had a small personal courtyard outside but unfortunately the weather wasn't kind.
Breakfast was good and freshly prepared and Denise welcoming and friendly
This was one of the most expensive places we stayed on our road trip - but Martinborough is small and there isn't too much choice for quality accommodation
We recommend the Martinborough hotel for drinks and food!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My partner treated me to a surprise birthday and we headed from Wellington to Martinborough for a magical weekend. Congratulations to Denise on a lovely retreat. The room was gorgeous as were the views. We walked through the adjacent vineyard with our bottle of bubbles and just relaxed, relaxed, relaxed. The underfloor heating was a treat. We loved the continental breakfast too. Just bliss from start to finish. A must come and visit!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleurR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
242 reviews
23.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
132 reviews
9 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#2 of 3 in Greytown
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
629 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: £146 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing