We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice in Martinborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Choice in Martinborough”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Every accommodation was made to ensure we had a lovely visit. It's all in the personal touch and Denise and Bruce get it all right! From the immaculate, quiet room, delicious breakfast, sweet room finishes and great conversation, it was all perfect. As we ventured out to dinner, we were sent off on bikes and given recommendations to Micro Wine Cafe and Hotel Martinborough for an evening of fun and food. They made it all so easy - the perfect level of engagement and also gave us our space. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK1Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    27
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this beautiful B&B. We were met by the owner Denise who made us very welcome and showed us round. We had a lovely large room which was immaculately clean. There was complementary tea, coffee and lovely toiletries,the room was very well appointed . It had a private court yard with table and chairs that over looked the vines.
At breakfast we met Bruce, Denise's husband both these hosts were charming and very helpful suggesting where to eat and what to do. The location of this B&B was perfect for visiting the wineries . We also drove to the coast to see the seal colony.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at Aylestone Boutique Retreat for two nights as part of our five week NZ trip. Bruce met us on arrival and was absolutely lovely. He showed us round and because he and Denise had decided to close for a few days, told us we were the only ones there and gave us a room upgrade! They are justifiably proud of what they have to offer guests at Aylestone and are determined that everyone should have a wonderful time. The rooms are beautifully furnished and appointed. This place is exceptional and sitting on the patio overlooking the vines while having breakfast was just perfection. Bruce also recommended a superb restaurant called Tirohana Estate. It was a great meal and Toby is the perfect maître d'! This is a wonderful area of NZ; Martinborough is delightful and if you like history, we thoroughly recommend 'The Cobblestones Museum' at Greytown. We shall be recommending Aylestone to all our friends and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Bruce and Denise were lovely hosts.Beautifull B and B in the heart of wine country. We found a couple of other things to do that we would really recommend. Drive to Cape palliser to see the fur seals and from there to the Lake Ferry hotel for the fish and chips, beer, and the view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here as a couple beautifully appointed. Bruce was a lovely host and full of helpful information. The room was spacious and clean however the only negative was being in having a room above us which you could hear every footstep. We would definitely book again but request a room without the upstairs facility for quietness. The breakfast was a bit late starting at 8.30am which we did not have time to enjoy due to other commitments would like the option for earlier start.

Room Tip: Ask for the room without the upstairs facilities ours was the regency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylst0ne, Owner at Aylstone Boutique Retreat, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thankyou very much for spending the time to write your review of Aylstone. For guests touring our beautiful country and other commitments that take them away early in the morning we supply a breakfast tray to the rooms the night before on request. It was a pleasure hosting you and hopefully, as you say, we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Bruce and Denise offer a warm and friendly welcome to this beautifully appointed B&B set among the vineyards of Martinborough. The views are fabulous and the rooms perfect. Complete quiet and serenity! Within walking distance of great vineyards and the village.
Lovely continental breakfasts served by Bruce who is fun and helpful.
A really classy place to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsk188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a truly beautiful place to stay. Bruce, the owner, could not have been more pleasant; the welcome was warm and genuine and he could not have been more helpful. Our room was lovely - spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with a delightful private patio overlooking the vineyard. The only regret we had was that we had booked in for only one night; if we are ever lucky enough to holiday in New Zealand again, we would certainly stay longer at Aylstone. The location of the property is idyllic - quiet, peaceful surroundings with lovely views and just a short stroll past vineyards to the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
220 reviews
23.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
125 reviews
9.0 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.5 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Property: Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing