We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charmer with excellent breakfast and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Martinborough Connection
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A gracious reception and excellent breakfast made this little B&B a charmer. The host David provided us with excellent wine advice and Lorraine cooked up a beautiful breakfast. The best fruit salad and bacon and eggs in NZ!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmaarten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

My usual experience with B&Bs is a gracious host couple welcoming me with a cup of tea, wine, beer, whatever, giving us time in the common area to chat about our plans or needs in the area. We never saw the hostess except to collect my credit card. Her husband was kind. When asked about a time to gather in the "lounge" to meet other guests/ happy hour, I was met with a blank stare. Although the Inn was "booked," our only gathering was in the gravel parking lot with another couple who were in residence.
Room was unremarkable. Tiny bathroom. Not one available plug in the room.
When we mentioned that we had to leave early to catch the ferry we were told that breakfast would be left for us. Indeed. Some opened boxes of cereal under a stained dish cloth and some canned pears with a tub of yogurt in the fridge. Oh yes, we found some bread and not the famous NZ butter, just margarine. The only disappointment in our LOVELY trip so far.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were not expecting the tiny poor quality rooms offered here. The walls are paper thin and the noise from the road and other rooms was clearly audible. The bathroom was not big enough to pick up a cat let alone swing it.
The lounge in the main house was comfortable but not big enough if all the rooms are full. If it is too cold to sit outside you definitely would not want to sit in your room with only one straight backed hard chair between 2 people!
It was not possible to get daylight into the room without leaving the room easily visible to all walking past on the route they needed to take to get to their cars, net curtains on the door may have improved that although I am not a fan of net curtains.
The breakfast was a good selection of cold and hot foods. It was an easy walk to The Square for dinner.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This place is really nice - the heritage old style building and the warms of the common space and the sun in the garden ideal for relaxation are the positives which makes this place special. the rooms are clean and comfortable, a bit out-dated possibly, but really that is not why you should pick up martinborough connection. it is the warm welcome, the "you are special" treatment from teh owners who goes the extra mile to help and be welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay there, together with a friend and my little 5months old daughter who was treated like a princess and loved the cuddles from Lorraine.I definatelly recommend the place and if I will be back in NZ I would not hesiatte to book there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Delightful bed & breakfast just on the edge of Martinborough - comfortable rooms and good b&b facilities. There is a guest lounge with a television, board games books and bottomless Tea/coffee Excellent breakfasts and very friendly and helpful hosts - very knowledgeable about the local wineyards and Martinborough in particular.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

David & Lorraine are great hosts and went out of their way to get our breakfast ready for an early departure. Characterful spotlessly clean accommodation just a short walk from the village centre. The garden was especially pleasant to while away an hour before dinner. Would definitely go back and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyHuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

From the moment we arrived the hosts, David and Lorraine, treated us like friends rather than guests and could not have been more welcoming. They were informal and informative hosts who went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. David provided a map of the local vineyards and took the time to indicate on it which would be open that day, and Lorraine was more than happy for us to pop a bottle of wine in her fridge to cool. Breakfast was a particular highlight, lovely fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereal to start followed by choice of cooked breakfast, finishing up with toast and preserves .. all helped down with copious quantities of coffee and tea. In addition, the daily newspaper was made available before the hosts had even opened a page themselves. Rooms lovely and clean and stylishly furnished, guest lounge furnished with antiques available to relax in. Location was ideal just a few minutes walk from the village centre and the vineyards. All in all would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timberlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
1 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
1 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
1 mi away
Margrain Vineyard Villas
Margrain Vineyard Villas
#5 of 8 in Martinborough
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martinborough Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martinborough Connection

Address: 80 Jellicoe Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Martinborough Connection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing