We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Martinborough Connection

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Martinborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Martinborough Connection
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay during the grape harvest. The breakfast always included a very ample supply of fresh fruit. The accommodations are walking distance from the restaurants and vineyards. Very clean room with all needs met.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 911Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A gracious reception and excellent breakfast made this little B&B a charmer. The host David provided us with excellent wine advice and Lorraine cooked up a beautiful breakfast. The best fruit salad and bacon and eggs in NZ!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmaarten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My usual experience with B&Bs is a gracious host couple welcoming me with a cup of tea, wine, beer, whatever, giving us time in the common area to chat about our plans or needs in the area. We never saw the hostess except to collect my credit card. Her husband was kind. When asked about a time to gather in the "lounge" to meet other guests/ happy hour, I was met with a blank stare. Although the Inn was "booked," our only gathering was in the gravel parking lot with another couple who were in residence.
Room was unremarkable. Tiny bathroom. Not one available plug in the room.
When we mentioned that we had to leave early to catch the ferry we were told that breakfast would be left for us. Indeed. Some opened boxes of cereal under a stained dish cloth and some canned pears with a tub of yogurt in the fridge. Oh yes, we found some bread and not the famous NZ butter, just margarine. The only disappointment in our LOVELY trip so far.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were not expecting the tiny poor quality rooms offered here. The walls are paper thin and the noise from the road and other rooms was clearly audible. The bathroom was not big enough to pick up a cat let alone swing it.
The lounge in the main house was comfortable but not big enough if all the rooms are full. If it is too cold to sit outside you definitely would not want to sit in your room with only one straight backed hard chair between 2 people!
It was not possible to get daylight into the room without leaving the room easily visible to all walking past on the route they needed to take to get to their cars, net curtains on the door may have improved that although I am not a fan of net curtains.
The breakfast was a good selection of cold and hot foods. It was an easy walk to The Square for dinner.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This place is really nice - the heritage old style building and the warms of the common space and the sun in the garden ideal for relaxation are the positives which makes this place special. the rooms are clean and comfortable, a bit out-dated possibly, but really that is not why you should pick up martinborough connection. it is the warm welcome, the "you are special" treatment from teh owners who goes the extra mile to help and be welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay there, together with a friend and my little 5months old daughter who was treated like a princess and loved the cuddles from Lorraine.I definatelly recommend the place and if I will be back in NZ I would not hesiatte to book there again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Delightful bed & breakfast just on the edge of Martinborough - comfortable rooms and good b&b facilities. There is a guest lounge with a television, board games books and bottomless Tea/coffee Excellent breakfasts and very friendly and helpful hosts - very knowledgeable about the local wineyards and Martinborough in particular.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

David & Lorraine are great hosts and went out of their way to get our breakfast ready for an early departure. Characterful spotlessly clean accommodation just a short walk from the village centre. The garden was especially pleasant to while away an hour before dinner. Would definitely go back and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyHuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martinborough Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martinborough Connection

Property: The Martinborough Connection
Address: 80 Jellicoe Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing