We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Martinborough Experience B&B
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for only one night but would have happily stayed for more. It is situated in a quiet residential street but was easy to find. More mobile people than we are would easily be able to walk around the wineries and enjoy them to the full! We were also able to walk into town for an evening meal. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was substantial and delivered to our room at exactly the right time. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and showed concern for our welfare after we experienced an earthquake while we were there. I would happily recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our 3rd stay at M'boro Experience. The host are lovely, the accommodation ticks all the boxes for us. You get a huge breakfast each morning. I am gluten free & there was ample choice on the breakfast menu for me. Set it beautiful gardens, you have your own table & chairs to sit & eat outside. We also book the room with the spa bath, it is huge. Bubble bath & toiletries are provided with clean towels daily.

Room Tip: If you can choose the end room with the spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Our third stay and as good as ever. Such good hosts, a lovely setting and delicious breakfast. Our little one loved the little toddler chair provided and it's that sort of touch that you remember. Highly recommend we will be back for a fourth visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank mikerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Set in attractive grounds with lovely rose gardens, this B&B gives an appealing first impression. However, found that with no designated reception area or office, I tried knocking on three doors before the owners 'discovered' me!

The studio room, with king-size bed is really spacious, as is the en suite but I feel the space could be better utilised. A small table and dining chairs would make eating much easier when the weather isn't conducive to eating outside, without having to move outdoor furniture indoors. In the en-suite, a vanity unit or shelves / cupboard would give somewhere to place toiletries, instead of leaving them on the floor! Light switches for lights above the bed are so far out of reach one has to get out of bed to turn them on or off. I see other comments regarding the comfortable bed, but we found it extremely hard - no 'give' at all in the mattress. Not a good night's sleep sadly and this wasn't only because of the howling wind!

A delicious breakfast was really appreciated - the omelette is to die for! And the array of five fresh fruits supplied for the continental breakfast was lovely. tea and coffee facilities are provided but a tea towel to dry mugs if wanting to use them a second time would be great. Had to use a clean face cloth to remove dried coffee residue (from our use, not others!) before I could use cups for tea.

Only other concern was the information taped to the top of the fridge, that payment was to be made by cash or eftpos only - no credit card facilities. We generally pay by credit card to increase our airpoints. Then, to top it off - the eftpos machine was not operating, so offered to make electronic bank transfer once home again.

Very friendly owners, very hospitable and most apologetic about the eftpos failing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This B & B is a perfect example of genuine comfort for moderate cost and close to all facilities. Rooms are large, offering comfortable beds, twin settee seating and well presented bathroom.
The grounds are kept tidy. A sunny location which should appeal to all. We have stayed a number of times and will return. Make sure you have the cooked breakfast too!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfectly acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked this B&B at the last minute by telephone. The hosts gave us a lovely room with a two-person spa. The breakfast was large and tasty for my wife, but they could not offer a gluten-free option for me. King-sized bed was very comfortable. located on a suburban street less than a 10 minute walk to the heart of Martinborough. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: See if they have the double spa room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnKnight, Owner at Martinborough Experience B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Unfortunately we were not able to offer some gluten-free items for this guest at such short notice. We are happy to provide gluten-free options if we have enough notice of their requirements. A choice of omelets or a continental breakfast are available at all times for gluten-free guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome from Bob and Dawn, who went out of their way to help us with information on local eateries. Lovely hosts and a remarkable breakfast brought direct to the room. Large, comfortable bedroom with a very plush double spa bath plus separate shower.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydwoceiluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martinborough Mews
Martinborough Mews
#2 of 8 in Martinborough
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinborough Experience B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinborough Experience B&B

Address: 84 Venice Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range: £83 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Martinborough Experience B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing