We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet luxury”

Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Martinborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Being confirmed Pinot Noir fans my hubby and I decided to stop off in Martinborough on our way from Napier to Wellington on our 5 week tour around the North Island. Everything about the Akrotiri Estate was wonderful. It is located about 3 km outside Martinborough in a rural setting so is very quiet and pastoral. Wendy greeted us and showed us around our suite - there is one queen bedroom with en suite and another queen bedroom with separate bathroom comprising the guest accommodation. Note, however, that unless two couples are there are on one booking you have the whole guest wing to yourself. The bed was comfortable and the guest lounge was spacious and had lots of books, DVDs and magazines. There is a TV monitor for the DVDs but no TV stations (who needs them when you're getting away from the hustle and bustle?). There is also a deluxe hot tub outside the bedroom - perfect for stargazing with a glass of wine. Fixings for the continental breakfast are in the fridge in the guest lounge so you can eat breakfast whenever it suits you. And what fixings they were! A lovely loaf of fresh multigrain bread, a selection of local preserves, gourmet plain yoghurt, blueberries, a bowl of plums from the orchard, grapefruit (possibly the best I've ever had), homemade muesli, tea and coffee. It was absolutely delicious. Wendy went above and beyond in making sure we had an enjoyable stay - making fantastic recommendations of where to eat and drink, giving us a ride into town (3 km away), making a phone call to Napier when we arrived to organize delivery of some forgotten items, and even planning a rendezvous with us in Wellington (our next stop) when we realized we had left a couple of things in the bathroom at Akrotiri. It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you Wendy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demisemiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minkamonka, Owner at Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

It's our pleasure to welcome guests like you to Akrotiri Estate. We hope to see you next time you visit NZ. Please make sure that you tell the folks back home all about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This excellent place has become our go-to place to stay when we visit Martinborough.

Wendy does a fabulous job looking after her guests and the place is so relaxing if you are used to the city noise. I swear you could hear a pin drop it is so quiet at night.

Great location for vineyard visits and there's olive oil tasting right next door too.

As usual we left refreshed and ready to face the week ahead! (and thanks Wendy for booking us such great massages!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minkamonka, Owner at Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments it really is our pleasure to have you as a repeat stayer with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We had a lovely time in Martinborough and we all made so welcome by Wendy and her husband. The accomodation is first class with tow lovely rooms [one en suite] and another bathroom. The sitting area if very luxurious with leather sofa. There is a lovely hot tub outside the french windows. The included breakfast is very good with fresh fruit, fresh bread etc etc. Dont be frightened of the "big" dog - gorgeous!! We actually stayed here twice!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minkamonka, Owner at Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thanks you for your feedback and for staying with us. It was our pleasure to meet you and the various members of your family - not once - but twice! Hope to see you all again next time you visit New Zealand. Until then safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent the last few days of our month long trip to New Zealand. It was a great place to stay for those last few days. Loved the hot tub and the peace and quiet. Loved the two friendly dogs. Great place and will stay again when we're back over.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 650Cwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minkamonka, Owner at Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that we helped to make your last few days in NZ so enjoyable! We have L & J coming over again next weekend; it will be lovely to see them again. Glad to see you got back safely to the UK. Hope to see you again next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The accommodation is generously sized, with two bedrooms and a large living room. You get your own breakfast, which is a little tricky without a sink.
Having read the reviews, we arrived with high expectations. However, it was disappointing. It felt a bit unloved. The towels and sheets smelt rather unpleasantly. There was a dead fly by the bed. Some of the fruit in the fridge, that we were given for breakfast, had started to go mouldy. The shower gel in the bathroom was empty and there was no shampoo.
Eating out in Martinborough on a Tuesday eveing was also a little tricky, as we had trouble finding a restaurant that was open. We had been recommended to the Thai restaurant so that was where we ate.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minkamonka, Owner at Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

We are sorry to hear that you had concerns during your stay. We feel sure that we could have resolved these for you, had you drawn them to our attention at the time. We believe that a successful stay relies on there being a two-way dialogue between our guests and us, so that we can ensure we understand guest needs and can meet/go beyond guest expectations.

We take great pride in doing our very best to keep our guests happy and have had many happy guest reviews, which is a reflection of the effort that we put in and the passion we have for ensuring a pleasurable experience and stay for our guests.

With regard to your points:

1) We are unsure why a sink is required to get breakfast: all cutlery and crockery is provided and the breakfast dishes are removed, cleaned and replaced each day. Rather than disturb our guests, we wait until they go out, before we come in and clear away. We do the washing up - so you don't have to. The kettle is filled each day and additional bottled water is provided in the fridge.

2) Our linen is laundered professionally. We have passed your comments on to the laundry that deals with this and they asked us to in turn to pass on their apologies to you.

3) We are located in a rural area full of livestock and in Summer, like anywhere else, unfortunately flies are a part of life. We vacuum on the morning of each guest's arrival and Marcus is fastidious about spraying prior to our guests arrival. However, a fly can enter in moments through an open door or window and it is inevitable that sometimes one will do so and will die unattended.

4) The fruit is supplied pre-packed by local suppliers. Food in NZ is not irradiated or otherwise treated to prolong shelf life. Obviously, we do not open and inspect pre-packed fruit for food hygiene reasons and apologise if there was a mouldy raspberry in the punnet: we have brought this to the attention of our supplier, who apologizes. We checked the sell by date and the fruit was still in date. The plums were picked fresh from our orchard for you. In NZ, we have to keep many things in the fridge in order to keep them fresh and this includes fruit, bread and all other groceries. If any of these things are left out in warm weather, they quickly go off.

5) We apologise if the shower gel and shampoo were empty. Had you advised us at the time we would have been able to let you have fresh supplies. However, it should be noted that inside each of the bathroom cupboards there is a good supply of toiletries, including a variety of shampoos, shower gels and things that people may forget to bring when they are traveling e.g. packaged spare toothbrushes and razors, sanitary items, deodorant, plasters, cotton wool and body lotions etc.

6) Martinborough is a rural service town that sees most of its trade at weekends. This means that many restaurants are closed Monday and Tuesday. With planning, it is always possible to find somewhere open, but granted the choice during some weekdays is not as great as at weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This was a birthday surprise for my husband from his children and it couldn't have been a better choice !! From the welcome we received from Wendy to the soaking in the spa pool we found our stay very private and peaceful . This was a great location for us, as we attended the Martinborough Wine and Music Festival and after Wendy dropped us in town early Sunday we were able to get off one of the festival buses right outside Akrotiri's gate!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaPodAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My review might be a little biased because I so appreciated Wendy even before we arrived. Planning a month long jaunt around NZ with another couple was a little daunting. Wendy made several suggestions, such as a visit to Akaroa, that turned out to be among our favorite stops. Sometime after booking at Akrotiri, I received email from Wendy telling me that one of NZ's most popular rock groups, Crowded House, was going to be playing at a neighboring winery the night of our arrival. She suggested that if we wanted to experience some local color we might want to purchase tickets asap as the concert would sell out. We did so and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We're not rock concert types, but we had a wonderful time sharing food, wine and even dancing with the very friendly and inclusive New Zealanders sitting around us. We left the concert feeling like we had a dozen or more new friends. And Wendy even drove us to the concert and pointed out a walking route home so that we didn't need to hassle with parking. I think this is reflective of the extra effort the Akrotiri owners take to provide a memorable stay for their guests.

We thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our time in Martinborough. It's a good base for wine tasting and just enjoying the beautiful countryside. Akrotiri Estate was excellent for two couples. We each had a lovely bedroom and separate bath and a living room/dining room to share. The guest quarters are attached to the main house but have their own entrance and patio so it is very private. Light breakfast fare was provided and you fix your own. If I have any negatives it is that other than the night of our arrival, we had far less opportunity to interact with the owners than we did at most of our other stays. Marcus was out of town and Wendy works away from the estate, so we missed the personal touch I think is probably part of the experience when Marcus is not traveling. Wendy said he normally tends to the guests. But because of the above and beyond communication from Wendy before our arrival, I rate this stay as five stars.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Calwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
1.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Martinborough Mews
Martinborough Mews
#2 of 8 in Martinborough
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri Estate Olive Grove & Accommodation

Address: 114 Hinakura Road, Martinborough 5741, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range: £105 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay a while, relax and soak up magical views across the 18-acre country estate, to the vineyards and mountains beyond. Excellent location, 5 mins from Martinborough Wine Village, close to vineyards and golf course. EXCLUSIVE USE of the estate's guest wing with private entrance. The accommodation sleeps 4 adults and has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, private patio, large luxury Spa Pool, elegant lounge, open-plan living/dining, luxurious leather furniture, heating+A/C and FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing