We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in Town”
Review of Pinot Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pinot Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent one night in a studio spa bath room that was spotlessly clean and well fitted out with things you do not normally get like board games, books, magazines, DVD's, CD's and stereo. The host was very informative and the gardens very attractive. It is situated just of the square so only one minute to the restaurants and bars yet is in a quite side street. The closest winery is only 3 minutes in the other direction. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a studio unit. It was midweek and for the first night we were the only ones there. The studio unit is a good size and well equipped. The kitchenette has a microwave, toaster and kettle. It would benefit from a cook top or even an electric fry pan. Spoke to the owner about that and he said that there are frying pans in the larger units but not in the studio's because of the food smells that are difficult to get rid of. The bathroom has a large spa bath with shower over. The toiletries are good quality. The king size bed is comfortable but I agree with other comments about the pillows. The garden area is a very nice place to lounge on a nice day and has recliner garden chairs and a BBQ. The accommodation is very close to the centre of town and several restaurants.

Downside of the units is noise levels from the street. Oh for double glazing. People on the street and trucks early in the morning were intrusive. However, overall these are very nice units.

Room Tip: Try for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in the two storey villa.
I'll start with the minor negative points:
The villas are right next to the fire station and, if there is an emergency, an air raid siren goes off. I understand the reason (volunteers need to be mobilised) but it is just unfortunate to be right next to the siren. Hopefully this review will mean that if you stay there you will know the reason for it and you wont think there is an earthquake when the siren goes off!
The beds are quite hard and so are the pillows, and the shower head in the second floor bathroom is terrible and needs to be replaced.
Ok, the positive:
The villas are in a fabulous location right near the square in Martinborough. We were able to walk to the fab cafes in town and also to many of the nearby wineries.
The owners are lovely and gave us excellent recommendations.
The villa was spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained.
The villa provides hotel style comforts (toiletries, service every second day) with the convenience of a kitchenette, lounge room etc.
Coffee, tea and milk were provided.
The price was reasonable for the 4 of us staying the the 2 bedroom villa.

I would stay here again (but only if the shower head has been changed and I'll be bringing my own pillow!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBlondeAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed here with my husband and sister in July, 2013. While we only just made it in due to the river flooding, the villa was lovely and warm, Ian had turned on the heaters ahead of our arrival.

The accommodation was lovely, warm and comfortable. The beds were great with luxurious linen and warm duvets and electric blankets if needed. There is also a wonderful shared courtyard that looks like it would be great in good weather, particularly if you're travelling with a large group or family with children.

Ian is wonderful, very knowledgable about the area and was already making sure the bridges were open for us before we checked out!

We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had a lovely one night stay here in the 2 storey villa. The villa was extremely well presented and the linen and bedding was lush. A great location right next to the square with a convenient stroll to all the restaurants and cafes nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bronwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Lovely, lovely, lovely villa! So comfortable with everything you need, didnt feel like leaving - it was so good! Felt like home. Was so close to the Square too! Love the decor - very tastefully chosen. Every little detail has been thought of - recommendations of vineyards, restaurants, cafes. Excellently managed by Ian and his wife. Well done! A +++++

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at Pinot Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for staying at Pinot Villas and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction and we would welcome your return visit in the future when you get some time off work and need a short break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and had glorious weather in April. Our villa was 2 storey and very very comfortable. The linen luxurious, beds comfortable and plenty of room. Ian was very helpful and we loved being able to walk to the wineries and taste they delicious Pinot Noirs this area is so famous for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at Pinot Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Pinot Villas as well as Martinborough itself. It is a lovely area of New Zealand and we are proud of the achievements of the village. We hope that you are able to return to stay at Pinot Villas again in the foreseeable future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.1 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
19.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinot Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinot Villas

Address: 4 Cambridge Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range: £79 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinot Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique accommodation with a 4.5 star rating. Wonderful location being only 50 metres from The Town Square, 100 metres from cafes, restaurants and bars. Villas and Spa Bath Suites with quality furnishings and fittings. King beds throughout. SKYTV, DVDs and FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pinot Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing