We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the movie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circus Cinema

Circus Cinema
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the movie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

we enjoyed the pizza and the roaring fire too! Lovely to be able to enjoy a coffee while watching the film

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nzmermaidnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great to watch a movie in a small and intimate setting. Lots of gluten free options on the menu. Only disappointment was that the fire could not be lit, because the wood was wet! I'm sure there are other suppliers in the area that could have supplied dry wood. Hopefully next time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Waituna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A surprise find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Really good meals and a great selection of films. We visited twice and would still have liked to see another film.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidHNewPlymouthNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“"Worst pizza we have ever had"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We went to Circus on the strength of other reviews on the 'great pizzas".

I appreciate that the cooking is dependant on the cook of the day - we never finished the pizza as we were doubting the quality of not just the pizza but the cooking skills.

Base of pizza so hard that we had difficulty cutting it - seemed to be sprinkled with packet garlic sprinkles, thin strips of basil [hardly worth a mention] and the base was a brought tomato base. In essence 'cheap and nasty' pizza that did not warrant $22.

My recommendation is to eat elsewhere or if you want a pizza go and buy a frozen one at the next door supermarket and heat it up at your residence [probably better quality and considerably cheaper].

I rarely give bad reviews but this place warranted it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meribel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Went in for a quick dinner. Pizza was tasty, dessert too.
Waitresses were friendly.
The set up inside the cinema building is interesting

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunnyday86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circus Cinema also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Circus Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing