We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odd service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ata Rangi Martinborough

Ata Rangi Martinborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ata Rangi, meaning "dawn sky" or "new beginning" is a small New Zealand winery with a big reputation for serious Pinot Noir. Located at the southern end of the North Island, it is owned and managed by a family trio - Clive Paton, his wife Phyll and his sister Alison - with star winemaker Helen Masters and Vineyard Manager Gerry Rotman. Ata Rangi is well established in 25 international markets and has an enviable reputation as one of the New World's most respected Pinot Noir producers."...the long-serving, dedicated team behind Ata Rangi just go from strength to strength. Their Pinots have always been great and yet, even in a world where the Pinot benchmark gets higher every year, Ata Rangi is better than ever." Lisa Perrotti-Brown MW, April 2013
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Odd service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had high expectations for this winery. Unfortunately, the woman who served us was hostile and pretentious. She seemed to be exhausting every bit of wine knowledge she had on us, and made us feel very uncomfortable. When we arrived the staff were having a good gossip about the last customers - which felt extremely unprofessional. Charging for a tasting is fine with me IF the service is good. The tasting room was small and poky and we didn't end up buying a thing. Disappointing all round really.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ata_Rangi, Owner at Ata Rangi Martinborough, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi there,

Apologies for the late response. We’ve only just joined TripAdvisor.

We respect that some people know a lot about wine, others don’t. And some want to hear lots about it, and others just want to try some wine. Our job is to gauge that accurately and respond accordingly. A complete ‘fail’ in your case.

Usually, we’re known as genuine, down-to-earth people who take a huge interest in meeting strangers as new friends and learning about them. It’s just who we are and have always been. The team is gobsmacked to hear about your experience and quite upset as a result.

But, however inexplicable to us, that was how you found it - so we’ll take it on the chin, and offer our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming little winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a charming little winery; their tasting room is in an old tin shed! We tasted 5 wines when we were there and most of them were great. Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok for non wine experts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Heard a lot of hype but for casual wine drinkers I couldn't appreciate this. Tasting area is small, costs $5, tasting pours were small, and on busy days its crowded and slow. I just drink wine casually so perhaps those into it more would appreciate it better. I've been to quite a few wineries and found this average based on other experiences. Still bought a couple of bottles though.

Helpful?
Thank Countfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ata_Rangi, Owner at Ata Rangi Martinborough, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi there,

Apologies for the late response. We’ve only just joined TripAdvisor. Thought we’d at least catch up with responses to reviews posted for this year.

Very sorry you didn’t find us meeting your expectations. Yes, our tasting area is small – our original winery building, in fact – we’re just a bunch of hard-working Kiwis passionate about making world class wine and don’t have some of the flashier things of others. And we can get busier than we plan for some days.

Still, we’re not very happy to hear what you thought about your visit, so sorry about that. Well, at least you bought some wine (thank you!) which hopefully has been a much better experience, or still full of future promise in a cellar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A small surprise...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Perhaps it was high expectations on my part, but I had a slight disappointment at Ata Rangi. I expected to get blown away, but I wasn't, either by the quality of the wine or the knowledge of the person working at the cellar door. It was not bad, just not what I expected. I did buy a bottle of their signature wine, but now my expectations are much more modest.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DBS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly, passionate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012


Even during winter, there were quite a few people coming in for a wine tasting (5NZD/6 wines). The host was just as passionate about the wines as she was knowledgeable. (A lot!) she had not only answers to every questions, but also managed to add additional information while keeping interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbe_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ata Rangi Martinborough also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Ata Rangi Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing