We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the humour not the wines”

Coney Winery & Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Come for the humour not the wines”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We did'nt eat here this visit although I've heard the food is great. It's worth coming here though for Tim's live show - his banter and wit is better than a show on TV! The wines we tried however were'nt striking enough to make a purchase.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The food was great, which is more than I can say for the "Gruff" welcome we got when we arrived! We had cycled to the vineyard - not that easy in a head wind for 7km!.
The wine tasting area is the bar where you walk in the door, which leaves the entrance to the place very crowded. We saw as many people leave as stay, due to this and the lack of initial service.
Once seated, the service was good (not outstanding) but the food was well worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank beaniewellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why travel overseas when you have this on your doorstep?”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Have been here for a wedding - fantastic - and a couple of times for long lunches. Coney's wines are excellent; the venue is beautiful, the ambiance is excellent and long lunches are a feature. They cater brilliantly for events and if you're invited to a wedding there - go!!

Helpful?
Thank LindatNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We arrived at about 1.40 when they close at 3, on the Martinborough fair day, with no booking and they were busy. NOT a problem. We four took a seat and enjoyed wine tasting at our table form a very good natured, chatty and informative Tim. Lovely wait staff who were there when we needed them but not hovering. We ordered three entrees to share so they made sure there was a piece for each. ALL delicious. the only disappointment was that three of us ordered the same salmon for main and one the pork. Wished we had all ordered different so we could have shared mains too.All clean plates, had to stop my darling licking his!! Great setting too.
Even more delighted when i asked about the freight on some wine and told that was on them!! can't wait for my case to arrive next week to share with friends. Would definitely go there again if the lovely Marg is cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickib113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great winery experience”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Being very familiar with the Coney pinot noir from my local Majestic outlet in the UK it was a real pleasure to visit the source of this fabulous wine. We had an informative and amusing wine tasting provided by Tim Coney as we sat around our dining table and ate a fabulous lunch (lots of Ottolenghi influences) prepared under the watchful eye of Tim's wife Margaret. In addition to the pinot noir I loved the syrah - which I had with my beef dish. The rieslings and Pinot Gris tasted wonderful too - I just wish they were also available at Majestic. The modern cellar door and restaurant space set amongst the vines is charming. I highly recommend a visit to the Martinborough wine region and in particular to the Coney Winery and estate.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coney Winery & Estate also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Coney Winery & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing