We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome platters”

Poppies Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome platters”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The platters at this place are exceptionally good, as is the service and friendliness of both Poppy and her team. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch here and strongly recommend it. Platters are about $40 which will feed two. Their wine is also very nice (I think the Rose was our favourite).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    58
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
437 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best lunch platters in Martinborough”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Having eaten at a number of wine bars, cafes, and elegant restauarants in Martinborough over Labour Weekend, this place was a delightful "find." I have no hesitation in saying their $40 platters are the best in town - with lots and lots of tasty food and variety. We sat out front in their small courtyard area; the place is only 12 months old so the plants/landscaping are still developing. We tried all of their wines - loved the Rose (not dry), Pinot Gris, late harvest Reisling and their Pinot Noir. All the wines are still very young but nicely balanced. The Rose at $35 is very expensive - I can buy 2 botles of Clearview Rose from Hawkes bay for less than this ($32)! And the Pinor Noir is $55/bottle; this is getting right up there folks. The winemaker (Poppie) has good pedigree having worked at Dry River (located across the road from Poppies) for 12 years. It will be interesting to see how this young couple progress. We will be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best platters, gorgeous hosts, lovely outdoor seating”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We loved Poppies. Poppy and her husband are absolutely gorgeous and made for a lovely experience. We had a cheese platter and a bottle of wine out on the front patio in the sunshine and it was lovely. Taking into account the whole winery experience, this was by far the best winery in Martinborough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LittleBlondeAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent platter friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great foodplatter in this new winery tasting was by the winemaker highly recommenend this bueatiful venue

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch in Martinborough”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Four of us visited Poppies yesterday for lunch. We were warmly greeted by Poppie and Shayne and were invited to taste a selection of their amazing wines -at no cost.

Lunch was a couple of extensive and cleverly thought out platters. The variety of tastes was to die for. We enjoyed a bottle of rosé and a Pinot Gris - both of which were superb.

It was a wonderful dining experience which I will repeat as often as possible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwigav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies Martinborough also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Poppies Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing