We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Martinborough Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Petit Hotel(Martinborough)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Swan(Greytown)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greytown Hotel(Greytown)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (265)
    Filter reviews
    265 results
    Traveller rating
    104
    115
    28
    13
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    104
    115
    28
    13
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgarden suiteclaw foot bathmain buildinghistoric hotellovely old hotelcentral locationbar snacksceiling fancomfortable hotelthursday nightwooden floorsbeautiful buildinghotel barmiddle of townold worldlibrary areaair conditioning
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    249 - 254 of 265 reviews
    Reviewed 23 September 2013

    We were redeeming a gift voucher and the hosts were most accommodating when we needed to cancel/change at short notice. And then on arrival, and through the stay they continued to be most welcoming and friendly. A special mention for Deb. This is a tastefully restored old hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed.
    The location is perfect right beside the town square and off road parking. Our room (Bidwill) was large and comfortable with access to the veranda. The bathroom has a large bath plus separate shower and good quality towels, robes and complimentary product.
    We dined in the restaurant (which was very busy) and enjoyed good service and a good meal. Our package included breakfast ... more than adequate with good coffee. I recommend the French toast made with brioche .
    Free wifi was an added bonus.

    Room Tip: The veranda rooms in the old hotel are quaint, but well appointed . There is some noise carry over from other rooms and activities in the hotel/bar itself , but this did not bother us. Note - the rooms inside the hotel appear to be all up stairs..
    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ShonaMargaret
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

    Thank you so much for the feedback and very sorry for the delay in acknowledging it! Bidwill is still beautiful and a favourite at the hotel! The food still a hit!

    Deb has sadly since moved on but we've had new owners and a new positive team and doing lovely upgrades, bit by bit, so do come back when time permits!

    Regards from Martinborough.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 May 2013

    I loved our stay at this hotel, it was a cold rainy day when we arrived, we were shown to our room which was beautifully warm. The room was large with bath robes and slippers. We had a bit tiled bathroom with big claw foot bath and walk in shower. It was clean and had modern touches that worked well with everything else.
    We had dinner in their bar (didnt want to venture too far in the rain) and enjoyed great service and very nice bar food (fish and chips and a pizza, but all top end of 'bar' food). The bar staff were great as we actually shared all our meals over a few hours, they plated the fish and chips on a plate each and we each had a little side salad etc- a nice touch!
    I would definatly return

    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank tinpen60
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

    Better late than never! We've had change of ownership in the hotel and still getting wonderful feedback so a belated thank you for yours. Hopefully we'll see you back soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 May 2013

    We stayed in the Riddiford room, a corner room. The bed is only a double meaning it's a tight squeeze for two grown adults to sleep in. Midgets, little people or whatever the PC term is, would still struggle. If you like traffic and pedestrian noise this is the place for you. If don't want to sleep due to no blackout curtains, book now. The dinner whilst acceptable was overpriced. The breakfast took 30 minutes to arrive and we were the only patrons. The mushrooms were cold, as was the plate. You'd be better off pitching a tent in the Square.

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank huntera202
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

    We appreciate the feedback and we've had some very positive changes. A new bed in Riddiford and very good feedback has been received in recent months regarding their stay with us and dining in the restaurant since the new ownership.

    Perhaps we'll have you back so we are able to redeem ourselves.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 May 2017
    Google Translation

    Room Tip: Gartensuite
    • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2017
    Google Translation

    • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews