We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Martinborough Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Martinborough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend at the Martinborough Hotel”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is perfectly located in the heart of the township. We came to stay with four other couples for a weekend break and it was just great. Four of us stayed in the Le Petit Hotel which is just right next door and the other couple stayed in a large suite behind the hotel, all owned by the hotel. We had the Petit Hotel to ourselves as there were only four rooms in it. The garden at the back of the Martinborough Hotel is ideal for siting in the sun and having a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant food and service couldn't be faulted and the bar staff were excellent. They were very obliging. The wine we purchased while cycling around the vineyards was collected for us by the Green Jersey bike company and stored in the hotel office for us until we collected it the next day. Rooms have all the amenities and the beds are very comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review and for staying with us recently. We are so pleased the weather was beautiful that weekend. We hope to have you back with us in the near or distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    87
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
150
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Perfect location in the centre of Martinborough and parking too. My husband and three adult children stayed one night for the "Toast" Festival in Martinborough. The Martinborough Hotel is a perfect location. Nothing was too much trouble, and being a 'peroxide Pom" I managed to confuse everyone with my booking!! We had two beautiful garden rooms both fully equipped for our comfort. Very spacious ground floor rooms perfect for the less mobile or wheelchair bound. Large walk in / wheel in shower with lovely fresh fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. We had an extra bed added so that the three boys could share which was very comfortable.
The breakfast was delicious..........poached eggs cooked to perfection, and beautiful locally produced bacon and mushrooms..........simply "yummy".
The staff were delightful, Mark Green the owner/Manager was there to ensure our stay was just perfect.
There is wifi in the hotel, free parking, excellent cuisine and friendly staff.........it doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems there are delightful garden rooms which are very spacious and all on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
What lovely words! We are delighted you had a good stay with us! Seems everything turned out really well which is how we like it. From Mark and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A historic hotel from another area. Stayed here as part of an overnight food and wine tour. Had a room on the second floor and while we were located over the bar we had little sound that night from it.

Very large room with high ceilings, period furniture, a pedestal bath tub and access to the warp around balcony that goes around two sides of the hotel. Great spot to sit, have some wine and watch the locals travel around the main square.

Would recommend this accommodation highly.

Room Tip: When you make a reservation you may want to request a room not directly underneath the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Belated thank you for the lovely feedback you placed in November. The hotel is very special and we are pleased you had a good stay with us. Glad you recommended others to come stay.

Perhaps we'll see you back with us when we have one of the great events, Jazz Festival or perhaps Toast or any other time.

Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the rear of this old historic restored (in 1996) hotel, which is located on the corner of the town square; within easy walking to the local cafes and shops. The garden rooms are spacious witha large king size bed, 2 loungers,a small table plus writing desk that houses a small flat screen TV. There are facilities to make tea/coffee plus a small fridge with minibar. Nice tiled bathroom with underfloor heating. No heated towel rail. The shower is spacious however being fully tiled it is slippery. Most garden rooms look out over an oval lawn area with clipped buxus hedging, cherry trees and white bush roses; the setting is quiet and pieceful. We had room "chifney" at the end of this more recently constructed wing of the hotel; being on the end meant our room was very private (no one walked past it). The only major complaint was 2 mornings my wife ran out of hot water while showering. We told the manager/owner David who said a plumber had checked everything after the first time this happened. Yet it happened again the next monring. Breakfast in the hotel downstairs was okay although not cheap and there are other options within 3-5 minute walking distance.

Room Tip: If you want history, stay in ther old part of the hotel; the garden rooms at the rear are fine howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
A belated thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. The Garden rooms remain popular for various reasons and the garden is still looking really good, even now in winter!

Water situation is fine, no feedback recently so all is well. So sorry your wife didn't have enough hot water during her stay.

We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Martinborough Hotel on Friday night. It's an amazing historical building thoroughly restored and furnished and decorated in a great taste. For NZD 85 per night it was a true bargain! We have stayed in a room on a first floor with an avcess to the balcony. The room waa beutifully decorated, quiet, comfortable and clean. The shower in the ensuite bathroom had a very good water pressure and the flower bouquet placed there gave the whole room an amazing fragrance. The hotel is located on the main square, few steps from good cafes, restaurants and the wine center. The restaurant and the bar downstairs were busy and offered good variety of food, local wines and craft beers. Overal an amazing stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
So pleased you had a very good stay at the hotel! Belated thank you for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Despite comments from others complaining about their experience here, we were lucky to spend a night without any interruption from the bar below, just a gail force wind in the morning to wake us up!

The interior refurbishment of this hotel is superb, and may have taken place since other guests have posted and it would go down as one of the more beautiful interiors I have experienced in a hotel. The lounge area downstairs around the fireplace has a god assortment of interesting books and although we didn't eat at the restaurant, the menu looked divine.

If I was coming back to Martinborough, I would definitely be staying here again. Wonderful.

Room Tip: A garden balcony will take you away from street noise, and make sure if you're typically early t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickliveshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting some lovely feedback. The hotel is looking great and we are going from strength to strength since new ownership last year.

We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This would be a great hotel if it weren't for the pub below. Rooms are tastefully decorated and combine old and modern effectively. Beds super comfy. Lack of a desk meant working on laptop on knees. No kettle in room, would have been nice as breakfast only available after 8am. Breakfast was in the pub/restaurant below. If you stay at the back of the hotel it may not be so noisy but if you are over the pub or to the side it can be an issue - cleaning out the crates of bottles as the bar closed was a racket! Plus the music from the neighbouring restaurant meant for a noisy late evening. After they closed there was no noise, traffic was limited that passed by. Balcony stretched right around the upper floor, so people walking past your room was a little disconcerting. If it weren't for the pub, lack of kettle and a corner shower this hotel would be right up there. Had a special rate of NZD120 for one night - hence good value rating.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar underneath would be a suggestion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback and since the new ownership we have most certainly addressed issues such as this! Very useful and recent reviews will show we are doing very well. Perhaps you'd consider joining us again so we can redeem ourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
22.9 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
123 reviews
9.5 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martinborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martinborough Hotel

Property: The Martinborough Hotel
Address: The Square, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martinborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1882, The Martinborough Hotel is a historic retreat offering luxury, boutique accommodation near Wellington. At the heart of Martinborough Wine Village, one of New Zealand's finest wine destinations. Today The Martinborough Hotel offers character, comfort and classic style with personal attention to your needs, making it ideal for either romantic getaways, indulgent escapes, family vacations or unique business gatherings. Place yourself within our beautiful space and free your spirit to breathe and soar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Martinborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing