We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing room ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Martinborough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We loved the garden room my daughter and I stayed in. It was a large, tastefully furnished room which had two twin beds, two chairs, a small table and a lazy boy style chair and yet still felt spacious. It is possibly the most relaxing room I have ever stayed in. Perhaps because it was mid week it was also very quiet. Wonderful!
The hotel itself was very nice. The bar not so much - not a comfortable or very welcoming place and the starter turkish bread was unappetizing so we had a drink and went across to Cool Change for dinner - highly recommended.
Only suggestion - it was December when we visited so how about some beautiful Christmas decorations? Such a beautiful old hotel should have a wonderful Christmas tree as you come in the door. Martinbourgh was completely lacking in Christmas feel - except in the shops selling Christmas decorations. Even the mid week visitors like to feel welcomed!

Room Tip: A garden room is just perfect. Although the beds are soft we had a wonderful room. Twin beds availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

So pleased you had a comfortable stay and we certainly appreciate the feedback about the restaurant and will pass that on to the business owners.

We hope to be a little more festive come December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Having stayed at the Hotel in Feb13 & experienced a poor night sleep owing to a noisy freezer motor located below we hoped for a better stay this visit.First night we were in the Hotel proper overlooking the garden & whilst the room was ok it was rather small. We were upgraded to a garden room where we were extremely happy.The Hotel has changed ownership since the earlier visit & the new management is extremely cordial & obliging.The Hotel location is central for touring the wineries. Continental breakfast is basic but more than adequate but note that the restaurant & bar are operated separately.We understand the new owners are looking to renovate which we feel would be beneficial particularly stressing the need for better air conditioning.We would also like to see pod coffee machines installed & in this modern age WIFI should be automatically included.A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Either a room on the balcony overlooking the square or garden room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you very much for posting feedback after your stay with us. Wonderful idea to get pod coffee machines! Wifi is included in our rate and you should have received a voucher to access our complimentary Wifi on check in, I apologise if you didn't. Pleased you had a comfortable stay in the Garden room. Thanks for the support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is perfectly located in the heart of the township. We came to stay with four other couples for a weekend break and it was just great. Four of us stayed in the Le Petit Hotel which is just right next door and the other couple stayed in a large suite behind the hotel, all owned by the hotel. We had the Petit Hotel to ourselves as there were only four rooms in it. The garden at the back of the Martinborough Hotel is ideal for siting in the sun and having a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant food and service couldn't be faulted and the bar staff were excellent. They were very obliging. The wine we purchased while cycling around the vineyards was collected for us by the Green Jersey bike company and stored in the hotel office for us until we collected it the next day. Rooms have all the amenities and the beds are very comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review and for staying with us recently. We are so pleased the weather was beautiful that weekend. We hope to have you back with us in the near or distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Perfect location in the centre of Martinborough and parking too. My husband and three adult children stayed one night for the "Toast" Festival in Martinborough. The Martinborough Hotel is a perfect location. Nothing was too much trouble, and being a 'peroxide Pom" I managed to confuse everyone with my booking!! We had two beautiful garden rooms both fully equipped for our comfort. Very spacious ground floor rooms perfect for the less mobile or wheelchair bound. Large walk in / wheel in shower with lovely fresh fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. We had an extra bed added so that the three boys could share which was very comfortable.
The breakfast was delicious..........poached eggs cooked to perfection, and beautiful locally produced bacon and mushrooms..........simply "yummy".
The staff were delightful, Mark Green the owner/Manager was there to ensure our stay was just perfect.
There is wifi in the hotel, free parking, excellent cuisine and friendly staff.........it doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems there are delightful garden rooms which are very spacious and all on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

What lovely words! We are delighted you had a good stay with us! Seems everything turned out really well which is how we like it. From Mark and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A historic hotel from another area. Stayed here as part of an overnight food and wine tour. Had a room on the second floor and while we were located over the bar we had little sound that night from it.

Very large room with high ceilings, period furniture, a pedestal bath tub and access to the warp around balcony that goes around two sides of the hotel. Great spot to sit, have some wine and watch the locals travel around the main square.

Would recommend this accommodation highly.

Room Tip: When you make a reservation you may want to request a room not directly underneath the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Belated thank you for the lovely feedback you placed in November. The hotel is very special and we are pleased you had a good stay with us. Glad you recommended others to come stay.

Perhaps we'll see you back with us when we have one of the great events, Jazz Festival or perhaps Toast or any other time.

Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the rear of this old historic restored (in 1996) hotel, which is located on the corner of the town square; within easy walking to the local cafes and shops. The garden rooms are spacious witha large king size bed, 2 loungers,a small table plus writing desk that houses a small flat screen TV. There are facilities to make tea/coffee plus a small fridge with minibar. Nice tiled bathroom with underfloor heating. No heated towel rail. The shower is spacious however being fully tiled it is slippery. Most garden rooms look out over an oval lawn area with clipped buxus hedging, cherry trees and white bush roses; the setting is quiet and pieceful. We had room "chifney" at the end of this more recently constructed wing of the hotel; being on the end meant our room was very private (no one walked past it). The only major complaint was 2 mornings my wife ran out of hot water while showering. We told the manager/owner David who said a plumber had checked everything after the first time this happened. Yet it happened again the next monring. Breakfast in the hotel downstairs was okay although not cheap and there are other options within 3-5 minute walking distance.

Room Tip: If you want history, stay in ther old part of the hotel; the garden rooms at the rear are fine howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

A belated thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. The Garden rooms remain popular for various reasons and the garden is still looking really good, even now in winter!

Water situation is fine, no feedback recently so all is well. So sorry your wife didn't have enough hot water during her stay.

We hope to see you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Martinborough Hotel on Friday night. It's an amazing historical building thoroughly restored and furnished and decorated in a great taste. For NZD 85 per night it was a true bargain! We have stayed in a room on a first floor with an avcess to the balcony. The room waa beutifully decorated, quiet, comfortable and clean. The shower in the ensuite bathroom had a very good water pressure and the flower bouquet placed there gave the whole room an amazing fragrance. The hotel is located on the main square, few steps from good cafes, restaurants and the wine center. The restaurant and the bar downstairs were busy and offered good variety of food, local wines and craft beers. Overal an amazing stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleMartb, Guest Relations Manager at The Martinborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

So pleased you had a very good stay at the hotel! Belated thank you for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
9.5 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
170 reviews
19.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martinborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martinborough Hotel

Address: The Square, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: £89 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martinborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1882, The Martinborough Hotel is a historic retreat offering luxury, boutique accommodation near Wellington. At the heart of Martinborough Wine Village, one of New Zealand's finest wine destinations. Today The Martinborough Hotel offers character, comfort and classic style with personal attention to your needs, making it ideal for either romantic getaways, indulgent escapes, family vacations or unique business gatherings. Place yourself within our beautiful space and free your spirit to breathe and soar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Martinborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing