We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We really enjoyed our two nights here in the two bedroom apartment. Very friendly managers, little DVD and games collection for the kids. Close enough to town but also far enough away. Well maintained lawns and it felt private drinking wine out on the deck (and it was fully booked at the time). The kids loved the giant chess set and we used the BBQ as well - all great! Very clean, well stocked and comfortable. All of us slept very very well - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and they provided a trundle bed for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frieda_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

I came here with several colleagues for a management retreat, but I will definitely be back with my husband. The motel is a little further out of town, but is in an absolutely idyllic setting with what we were informed was 5 acres of immaculate gardens, together with giant chess game, petanque, a pond and barbeques. This made it an extremely relaxing place to spend a couple of days of meetings.

As a conference venue the motel was perfect, with our meeting space set up in a spacious two bedroom unit. The muffins on the first day were absolutely delicious, and the owner professionally and discretely ensured we were taken care of.

My own unit was one of the two level standard units. It was very clean and modern, the shower was reasonably strong and nice and hot. The only downside was that in summer the mezzanine got rather hot, and there was no fan or air con to cool things down. A workmate ended up sleeping in the single bed on the ground floor of her unit as a result.

The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. I wasn't able to take advantage of the offered bike hire, however am planning a return trip to tour some vineyards and the excellent restaurants and cafes we enjoyed when we weren't working.

Room Tip: If staying in summer be aware the two level units may be a little warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our experience at the Claremont was fantastic!! The hosts were friendly and even unpacked shopping and wine into the fridge. The room was great and all the facilities were spot on. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salz_forrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for you wonderful feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times, most recently overnight on the weekend of the MCFR bike race.

The rooms are crisp and clean and awesome. And the service is superb; specifically they generously let us check out about 3pm the day of the ride.

They have essentially free wifi (extra charges for heavy use), a pretty handy DVD collection that they let you borrow (movies available in NZ on satellite TV are poor at best), and it's a short, easy, ten minute walk to the township for takeaways and a movie.

The only niggle is that the wireless internet is a bit flakey, but it's not awful.

Thoroughly recommend the place. I've also stayed at the Martinborough Hotel and would pick this place over that place every time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception seem to have better wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuySmithNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your repeat stay at The Claremont Motel. We really appreciate positive feed back. We are delighted to be able to offer our customers FREE internet access now, we have had a few teething problems with the new system but this has now been rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Reading another review made me a bit hesitant to book, but went with my gut instinct. I'm glad i did! The place was clean and comfy. Shower was walk in which was great Bec you don't have gunk on the edges of doors or mold on curtains. With a family of 4 having showers morning and evening, we never flooded the bathroom.
Kids beds were clean and comfy. Upstairs bed may need an update as hubby and I kept meeting in the sinkhole in the middle. Loft floors a bit creaky but only up there to sleep. Could do with pedestal fans as it gets hot. You could sleep with dorma window open, but not rain proof.
Calcium in water leaves scale in kettle, all I had to do was ask and I got a new one. Overall, great stay. Kids had fun playing on huge chess board.

Room Tip: All good as area is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSM56F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Claremont Motel. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We have an ongoing battle with lime in our water in Martinborough, it is not attractive but totally safe. We have our water tested regularly. It is very pleasing that you found our facilities clean and comfortable. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of hosting you and your family at The Claremont again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for one night in a unit with the master bed upstairs on a mezzanine floor. The unit was immaculately clean, spacious, great kitchen and bathroom and lovely decor. Unfortunately it rained all the time we were there so we were unable to take advantage of the beautiful grounds. Very helpful, friendly welcoming hosts. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We are delighted the you enjoyed you stay at The Claremont Motel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A lovely modern spacious clean 2 bedroom apartment that exceeded our expectations. Tastefully decorated with quality chattels. Unless you are a keen walker a vehicle is needed to get into the town centre, particuarly in the winter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinXuBarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, Owner at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay in August 2013. We are delighted that you enjoyed The Claremont Motel. We are located 1300m from the town centre which is about a 10-15 minute walk. A vehical could be useful during the winter months as you say but it is a pleasent walk enjoyed by many during the summer. A local shuttle service is available to and from The Claremont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.6 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
22.4 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.3 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Motel & Apartments

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly The Claremont Martinborough)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: £77 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claremont Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing