We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value meal”

The Martinborough Hotel Bar and Grill
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Bar is open 7 days a week serving bar/pub meals We have a Restaurant/Bistro open 5 days a week
Down Under
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value meal”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lovely food and a really great atmosphere. Nice beers on tap and great staff. Definitely one to go to when in this beautiful wine region of New Zealand!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellinRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    67
    35
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average overpriced food”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

As the title says. The coffee was underextracted. The mushrooms cold as was the plate. The breakfast took 30 minutes to arrive and we were the only 2 people in the dining room. The poached eggs overcooked. The dinner was marginally better. The duck was well cooked. The dessert, a Trio comprising creme brulee, chocolate mousse and raspberry sorbet. The sorbet was on the old side and the mousse cloyingly sweet. The brulee was one of the better ones I have tasted.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank huntera202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comblanchien, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We enjoyed everything there.
Either if you go to the gastronomic restaurant or to the bistro.
The first one is romantic and great, the other one is good to have a pizza, especially on Wednesday.
We will be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raphael2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the whole evening! The food was excellent, the portion sizes were of a decent size, very tasty, and our steaks were cooked to perfection. What was really great was the staff. The young man serving us was very friendly, and very knowledgable about the food and wine. I could see the bar was busy next door but the restaurant was nice and quiet with a lovely atmosphere - we could see the staff busy in the kitchen. Very enjoyable and will definitely be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CountryGalOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHotelBarandGrill21, Manager at The Martinborough Hotel Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review, its was great you enjoyed your time with us.
I will make sure Brent your waiter gets your feedback.
Hope next time your in the area you will dine with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner at the lovely old white hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Decor superb, staff friendly and knowledgeable. Food very good, well presented and superbly cooked. We would certainly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Martinborough Hotel Bar and Grill also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing