We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Village Cafe”
Review of The Village Cafe

The Village Cafe
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Martinborough
Price range: US$3 - US$24
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love the Village Cafe”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Friendly atmosphere and wonderfully well-cooked presented food ensure it is a fun spot most any time of the day. Large, but still -- quite cosy with Wifi, too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LydiaGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    91
    34
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Always delicious, freshly made food, friendly service ...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a great place to go to relax, have a good coffee and snack or meal and especially catch up on the paper. Big tables mean there's room for comfortable enjoyment. Cosy environment even in cold weather. Excellent, friendly staff, good food. A very hard habit to break whenever we visit Martinborough!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great pizzas!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a very busy cafe with lots of atmosphere. We sat at a long wooden table which could be shared with other diners.The pizza had a delicious topping. Very reasonable prices. Martinborough wine by the glass only $8.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMG yummy!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Johnner Pinot Noir matched with a minced pork ragout pasta dish was excellent. Husband enjoyed the pizza and chips. Huge selection of food and wine - wish we were back there!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amandamaryprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“weekend pick me up”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we stopped by for coffee and cake in need of some mid afternoon sustenance following a bike ride on the south coast this Queen's Birthday weekend. Coffee was hot and strong as we like it and the hummingbird cake (banana, pineapple and passionfruit) with yoghurt was enough to share between two of us - that made up for the 15% holiday surcharge which stops me giving them a 5. I know businesses have to pay staff but seriously if you rate your own business to attract customers then the goodwill really pays off. But on the positive, they were still open at 3pm unlike a competitor who had already turned their coffee machine off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BB5Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Cafe also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to The Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing