We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tirohana Estate

Tirohana Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$41
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the boutique vineyard to the hills beyond, enjoy lunch or dinner in this atmospheric and elegant setting complete with original New Zealand artwork and evocative music. A roaring fire in the winter and doors thrown open to the warm breeze in the warmer months, a sunny terrace and outdoor seating. Large groups and corporate clients welcome by arrangement. Seasonal menus utilising the best of the local produce with an emphasis on organic and sustainable produce. Special diets catered for.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have eaten here ourselves twice over the past 2 years, loved every moment, and just this past weekend we sent my in-laws for an indulgent weekend away. Toby was great as I emailed him to make the reservation and let him know we were shouting my in-laws and wanted it to be a special experience for them. We were not disappointed! My in-laws reported that they had an incredible experience, from the minute they were picked up from their accommodation until the minute they were dropped safely back. Thank you Toby and the team at Tirohana for making dining much more than just eating, but making it such an experience. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_L_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    77
    21
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unfortunately an average meal”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We went for our wedding anniversary. We were greeted by the lovely Toby and shown to a wee table in the corner. The restaurant was having a big function on which we knew about when we booked. We had Bern here previously and had eaten the most amazing food & had such 5 star service so were keen to experience it again. Unfortunately the food was well below par, we were served raw prawns and I had a very luke warm main. I'm not sure whether the substandard food was just because the restaurant was rushed off its feet or its dropped its game. Not sure we would be keen for a revisit.

Helpful?
Thank Kimmyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirohana, General Manager at Tirohana Estate, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
As always, we very much appreciate and value constructive feedback from our clients in our attempts at providing the very best service, ambiance and cuisine. It is so very difficult to address matters after the event sand having checked with our service staff they confirmed that upon enquiring how the various courses were that they were advised that all was great (apart from the one undercooked prawn on the plate).

If any of our clients have any issue with any of the courses then we are always very happy to provide an alternate dish if any particular one is not to their personal liking and really would encourage any client to feel comfortable to report back in any catering establishment let alone Tirohana because it is customary within the hospitality industry for any establishment to try and resolve any issues but clearly this cannot be done if those issues are not brought to the attention of the staff on the night and we only discover the feedback days later via a review.

We hope you will choose to dine again at Tirohana as nothing whatsoever has changed with our service or dining experience and we would hope no to be judged for example on one meal that is perhaps not as warm as it could have been - though we would have been delighted to have rectified this at the time - and we continue to strive to do our very best in all areas for all our clients.

Best wishes,
Management at Tirohana Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
437 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Elegant dinning, food did'nt always match the menu”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Came with as party of 10 over Labour Weekend after reading some great reviews on Trip Advisor. We had the $59 pp fixed price 3 course menu, which had a choice of 5 dishes or so per course. I had the toasted prawns as my entree and lamb rump as the main, followed by vanilla panacotta for desert. The lamb was excellent - some of the best I've eaten. The prawns were dry and over cooked. The dessert was "ordinary." Their Classic Pinot Noir 2010 wine has good body and a smooth finish. The decore has a nice romatic feel, including a pair of magnificent Spanish iron doors. The service is efficient, attentive and friendly. 3 courses, a bottle of wine and coffees came to $155 per couple. A nice alternative to the many bistros and casual cafes in Martinborough township.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On our first evening in Martinborough, Tirohana Estate's restaurant was the perfect escape from the cold and wet weather. It was wonderful to walk into the restaurant to be greeted with friendly service and a crackling fire. Great ambiance, attentive service and hearty food made for an enjoyable and memorable evening. As I can't get back anytime soon I'll be trying to get hold of recipes for some of the food we had at Tirohana!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend for an Excellent Night Out”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Delicious food, excellent wine list & a lovely location but best of all was the incredibly friendly service. A family run business that really does live the ideal of treating you like one of their own. I came for dinner here as part of a weekend away with (girl)friends, but would equally see this as being an excellent place for couples or smaller groups. Will be back myself the next time I'm in Martinborough and would recommend to anyone else in the area to do the same.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwilizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tirohana Estate also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Tirohana Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing