We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tirohana Estate

Tirohana Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$41
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the boutique vineyard to the hills beyond, enjoy lunch or dinner in this atmospheric and elegant setting complete with original New Zealand artwork and evocative music. A roaring fire in the winter and doors thrown open to the warm breeze in the warmer months, a sunny terrace and outdoor seating. Large groups and corporate clients welcome by arrangement. Seasonal menus utilising the best of the local produce with an emphasis on organic and sustainable produce. Special diets catered for.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Tobias, the 'superman'. He gave us a warm welcome, very meticulous and caring with his guests (that's what we observed) even when he was busy. Yummy food and wine from their own vineyard. A must-visit when you are at martinborough! Thanks Tobias!

Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    77
    22
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

A restaurant experience that everyone should try at least once. I say "at least" because whilst we are spoilt for choice in Martinborough, this is not number one on Trip Advisor by chance, and you will probably find yourself buying a voucher for your family when you leave, or at least intending to return. OK so if you read some of the others below you will see some chip-on-the-shoulder reviews that the food was not up to it. Forget that. The food may not be cutting edge for some people but it is tasty, fresh, current and beautifully presented. But you can probably find that in lots of places around here. What makes this place totally special is a mix of three other things that create a luxury package: the delightful setting and decor, the fun, intentional and totally personal service and the wine, which complements and matches all the rest. You will have an evening with meaning. Enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tara1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khandallah, null, New Zealand
1 review
“An Extraordinary Day - Our Family, Our Friends and Our Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

When we decided to get married, we wanted a day where our family and friends could sit, talk and relax in an informal and inviting atmosphere. We found Tirohana, and then we chose Tirohana as a place where the tranquility and character of the setting would add to our special day. Something in our gut told us, that we could trust Saranne, Toby and Ray with our most dearest friends and family. This was our highest priority and our hosts delivered in every respect.

The food was delicious, and Saranne made every option available to us, that the decision-making was a breeze.

The preparation for our Wedding, was almost effortless, which is important for us as we are not all that good at it. Our hosts ability to work with the two of us, and eventually, 80 of our closest loved ones, should be commended, and recommended and we are more than happy to.

Our guests were made welcome as they arrived amongst the vines in a town that none of them live in, and the majority were new to. Perfect getaway wedding. Close to Wellington and Palmerston North, but it seemed like a thousand miles away from the daily grind.

We will be returning to Martinborough and we will always be grateful to the Tirohana team; remembering them with great fondness on each anniversary.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula-MareeMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Excellent Meal shared with my husband and friends to celebrate my birthday. The service was amazing from the moment we were collected from our accommodation, we were made to feel welcome. The food was delicious - a 5 course gourmet meal at an incredibly reasonable price. No-one in our group was disappointed with any of their meals. A special birthday mousse at the end just made my night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dezza-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been here a number of times and it's not just the food that brings us back. The service is outstanding, in particular, Toby the front of house staff member. Our meal was prix fixe ($59 per head if I remember right) and was three tasty courses that satisfied without overfilling you. The restaurant is suitable for groups or couples

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khaki53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tirohana Estate also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Tirohana Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing