We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and cuisine”
Review of Tirohana Estate

Tirohana Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$43
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the boutique vineyard to the hills beyond, enjoy lunch or dinner in this atmospheric and elegant setting complete with original New Zealand artwork and evocative music. A roaring fire in the winter and doors thrown open to the warm breeze in the warmer months, a sunny terrace and outdoor seating. Large groups and corporate clients welcome by arrangement. Seasonal menus utilising the best of the local produce with an emphasis on organic and sustainable produce. Special diets catered for.
Seefeld in Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and cuisine”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was reccomended to us by the owner of the Aylstone Motel, and it was more than good it was fantastic. The service was excellent and the three course dinner 5 star.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imakiwi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    78
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special welcome, superb dinner”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We went for a romantic birthday dinner.
The welcome was lovely with an aperitif and a nice chat with our host.
We had a $59 3-course dinner (great value). All three courses were delicious and the recommended wine was just awesome.
The whole evening was a success and we will definitely recommend it to our friends

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flex0mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A-m-a-z-i-n-g!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Tirohana Estate is the best dining experience we have had in a very long time. The service is amazing and the wine and cuisine a must whenever we can get through.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bevas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful evening ”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Was in Martinborough for a wedding recently and the night before a group of eight of us went to dinner at tirohana. They picked us up from out accommodation and we're generally fantastic throughout the entire night then dropped us home again! I would recommend to anyone for the food and service.

Helpful?
Thank MandaKGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“let down”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we had a meal with 14 people on sunday 1st. we had booked 2 weeks in advance as a table of 14 friends.
At no point of the booking were we told it that we were to be spilt into 2 tables until we arrived.
We even paid a deposit of $150,up front to cover the booking. Most people who book for 14 people would expect to be seated as 14, it was a special occasion and to be split up was not acceptable.
The meal-Most of us ordered the medium rare beef, which came out as medium- no one had medium rare.
there were 2 lamb meals that were perfect!!!
the rest of the meal was really just average,which was reflected in the charges of $60- for a 4 course meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1grumpyoldman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirohana, Owner at Tirohana Estate, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

There seems to be a huge misunderstanding here because we have on record that the person who booked this was told at the time of booking (as per our policy and reflected in fact on our group menu on our website) that we would have to split the booking over 2 adjacent tables, which is what occurred. So we are surprised to know after the event that this was an issue.

We are able to accommodate groups at one table up to 12 guests and do get many such special occasion bookings such as small weddings, anniversaries, etc. who choose to celebrate at Tirohana. But due to the layout of the restaurant, which is intimate, we simply cannot push too many tables together to create a table of 20 for example as it would block our fire exits - and for any guests in excess of 12, we need to split tables which in your case was accommodated with a table of 8 and a table of 6 next to each other.

Our website clearly states this policy and our staff always refer potential guests to this policy via phone conversations or email correspondence.

If 40 guests wish to book for example, then we accommodate them at 4 tables of 10 guests each as obviously the configuration would be odd with one long table of 40 guests and the restaurant wouldn't accommodate it anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tirohana Estate also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Tirohana Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing