We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Hotel(Martinborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Swan(Greytown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greytown Hotel(Greytown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
436
182
34
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
182
34
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas firesecluded cottagewinemakers cottagespa baththe cottageshot tubbuffet breakfastpavilion restaurantfull kitchenliving areacouple of nightsgreat place to stayunderfloor heatingrelaxing staygreat facilitieswell equipped kitchenprivate deck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms - more like one bedroom apartments with comfy sofas in the living rooms.

It was very warm the weekend we visited. We found a fireplace, electric blankets, heated Towel racks, an electric space heater ...but no fan or air con. We were roasting for the first few hours and had to open everything up to try to cool the place down.

The Internet is terrible. Useless. 15 free minutes Per day, and then a system that didnt allow for full day extension. Rubbish. Apparently the Internet service provider had been called, but it was annoying as we had a lot of local wineries and restaurants we wanted to explore online before we visited. The front desk were sympathetic and we appreciated their attention, inspite of the limitations of their system. Fix your bloody Internet!

The breakfast was fine. It was nice to have a choice of Continental only vs Full cooked. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once and it was superb.

Martinborough is gorgeous. A great weekend away trip out of Wellington.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank jetlagwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Kia Ora,

Thank you for your above comments.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner in our Pavillion restaurant.
We do apologize that the internet was "playing up" during your stay hopefully this will not happen again should you return.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We first stayed at Parehua in 2009 and have been back six times since then.
On the outskirts of the pleasant wine growing town of Martinborough the hotel has a small lake with ducks surrounded by trees and an exquisite view across the valley pastureland where the only sounds you'll hear are occasional trucks coming down the road or the cows trooping off to be milked.
The cottages are extremely well equipped for self catering with a gas open fire for the cool evenings.
The beds guarantee a good night's sleep and the heated floor of the bathroom makes getting up on cold mornings a pleasure.
We have stayed in each type of room, those with a hot tub on the balcony are particularly excellent in midwinter when you can get up and watch the sun rise from the tub with a chilly face but everything else toasty warm.
We live in Sydney but whenever we want to just lock ourselves in, drink wine and relax for a few days (playing lots of Scrabble with which each room is equipped) this is the place we go. In the highly improbable event of stir craziness the region has quite a few drives and walks as well as an abundance of vineyards and local producers.
The staff are all very good with Queenie being our particularly outstanding favourite.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, more money gives more square footage, a better view or both plus a hot tub but I'm pretty sure you'll be happy with whatever you choose.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canthox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team is very pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoy it here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and are a returning guest of six times. Thank you for choosing us to be your preferred favourite resort to relax.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as enjoyable as all the previous ones.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in a villa with our three children for a big treat for two nights to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday and it was just wonderful. While I would usually recommend this as a place for couples to go, the facilities for our kids were great. We played tennis, swam in the pool, played petanque, played cricket in our back garden, had a soak in the hot tub, had delicious breakfasts and enjoyed a self-catering picnic on our lawn all without leaving the property.

I just love the decor on this place, as it is a true Kiwi experience with the fire, the ceramics and soft furnishings being very natural and New Zealand in style. This place is a true get away from it all, superbly comfortable and very quiet. A perfect place for a short break away from life's busyness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are very pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable 40th, we are very fortuanate that we do have lovely grounds and ample activities to keep everyone pleased.

We look very forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We booked the Peppers "Gourmet Trail Package" which included accommodation, breakfast and a tasting platter of local delicacies. Lovely surrounds, vineyards right next door and only 15 minute walk into town. We stayed in a "Winemakers' Cottage" and these are scattered around the property, all very private, peacefully and quiet. The cottage itself was fabulous, fitted with a push-button fireplace (didn't need it as it was an unusually balmy 30 degrees when we arrived), bi-fold doors leading onto a little patio, great bathroom with a deep spa bath and a fully equipped kitchen. The property also has a swimming pool and an on-site restaurant. Martinborough is lovely with a number of places to eat or you can get some provisions at the local supermarket, a nice bottle of the local pinot and enjoy it back in your Winemakers' Cottage. Make sure you visit the Martinborough Wine Centre where the knowledgeable staff will put a tasting of local wines together for you. Or you can visit the individual vineyards by foot or bike.

PS. Considering that the day tours visiting the Martinborough region from Wellington are quite expensive, we could hire a car and stay for a couple of nights for just about the same cost. This way you can really experience everything this fabulous region has to offer, including a side trip to Greytown (15 minutes by car), a cute little town ideal for spending an afternoon.... lots of quaint and quirky shops and a fabulous French Patisserie .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on-honeymoon-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are so pleased to here you had a lovely peaceful and quiet private getaway.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Excellent rooms which are stylish, functional and comfortable.
Although we only stayed on night on our way back to Wellington, you could quite easily stay here a week, while exploring the area.
Rooms are private and the hotel appeared to be kid free! So much peace and quiet!
There is also an open gas fireplace, which would be a hit in the winter months.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the far end (19, 20) you will have your own private grassed backyard area, which doesn't back onto any driveways through the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team is very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough and found our cottages to be stylish, functional and comfortable.

The team here at Peppers Parehua look forward to having you back again soon for your much needed week escape :)

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews