We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only one night - but one to relish.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington (NZ)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only one night - but one to relish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

What an enjoyment is was to stay at Peppers Parehua. Lovely facilities and staff. Beautiful food to cap off a memorable stay in the wine district of the Wairarapa. We used a Winemakers Cottage and it was just right for the two of us. Great Spa Bath!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitripaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Kia Ora

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are very happy tohear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    144
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
372
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have stayed at Peppers Parehua Martinborough five times and experienced the garden cottage, wine makers cottage and lakeside cottage, we had the included 5 course dinner in our deal and it was delicious, the restaurant staff were very accommodating and we experienced excellent service throughout. Looking forward to or next experience there soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Karyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Kia Ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are very happy to hear you always enjoy your experience with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon at Peppers Parehua and thank you for always opting for Peppers Parehua for a lovely nights getaway.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked a last minute night away in Peppers and really enjoyed our stay. We wanted somewhere close to Wellington and decided on Martinborough.
The entrance to the property could do with a little work. I think it does not reflect the luxury throughout the rest of the property. The staff were very friendly and professional. We stayed in the Winemakers cottage and the room standard was excellent. The gas fire was wonderfully comforting on a cold night. The room was so comfortable from the living area to the bathroom to the bedroom. Unfortunately the underfloor heating was not working in the bathroom. The tea and coffee making facilities were great. The decor is sophisticated and comfortable. The standard of cleanliness is fantastic. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good. We had expected a little better though. I had a fish special and the fish was lovely but the accompanying sauce very bland. My partner had the fillet Mignon and he enjoyed it. We shared the chocolate tasting plate and it was delicious. The breakfast was beautiful, excellent selection of cereals, breads, fruit and pastries. Although the cooked breakfast was a little cold.

Overall we had a lovely night away and will be back in the summer. We would highly recommend a romantic night away here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinead802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, we appreciate your comments made and have taken them all on-board.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend getaway and we look very forward to hosting you again in the summer when you join us again for your romantic night getaway.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Parehua in the weekend for one night, we have stayed before and loved it. The only thing letting this amazing place down is the food and privacy.
We were in a Lake-side cottage which wasn't too much different from the Winemakers Cottage we stayed at last time - just the view. The rooms are outstanding, from the comfortable beds, to the layout of the rooms to the bathroom - though the underfloor heating was not working this time.
The disappointment was in the food, we had a five course degustation, the starter was average (Artisan Bread Selection), we never got the Amuse Bouche, the entree was average (arancini balls), the main was lukewarm and lamb was very fatty (lamb rump) and dessert was good. The service was amazing right through and staff were very friendly and helpful.
The next morning, had breakfast delivered to the room, and it was less than average, food was cold, and for a four and a half star place was pretty poor.
In regards to the privacy, we were sitting in our bathrobes having a glass of wine on the 'private outdoor seating' and three couples, one with a baby walked past and stared right at us and one couple even took a photo!
I would stay here again but will not be dining in the restaurant, Martinborough has far superior dining places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KomalChh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.
We regret the shortcomings in our restaurant that you have reported.

This is not up to our usual standard and we apologise once again for the "disappointment" you experienced in our Restaurant during your stay.
We are glad to hear that the service and room ammenities were of a high standard, we strive to enable a "5 star" stay for all our guests.
We look forward to hosting you again soon in the near future and we have faith that you will have an enjoyable experience in our restaurant for your third time.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We started here for one night and it was fantastic. The weather was awful but the staff had our fire lit already so the secluded cottage war lovely and warm and welcoming. We had dinner in their restaurant and the good was amazing with locally matched wines. Staff were really friendly and made us feel at home. Amazing place, shame about the weather!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieb862015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable night here in one of our Secluded cottages.

We look forward to having you back again soon and to making sure your stay is just as comfortable as before.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were only here for one night and a very pleasant experience it was too. The room was very comfortable and warm (it was a very cold night) and the gas fire added that extra ambience. The very nice breakfast was included in our room cost which all in all was very reasonable for this standard of accommodation. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The only downside was that there was a mix up with our bill and we were overcharged. However that was easily sorted out. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the Martinborough town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are so pleased to here you had a "superb" stay here, we thoroughly enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Last minute trip planned for the night.
Staff were very accomodating to get us in, book a massage and dinner.
We left early on Sunday, so breakfast was delivered the night before - very nice continental breakfast....
Only down side was the dinner, food was not as good as I remember....
The desserts were really disappointing, and the steak was overcooked - other than that the quality of food was good.
We felt like we were being rushed out (tried to move our booking from 7.45pm to 8.15) but they could only accomodate 8pm as they said there were no tables, but it was clear when we arrived that we were the last to dine, and the kitchen wanted to close (the waitress was lovely - did not get this impression from her).
We got to have our dessert delivered to the room which was nice - but as I have said the quality wasn't great....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, we appreciate your comments made and have taken them all on-board.

We are glad to hear you had a "lovely stay" and hope to welcome you back again in the near future,

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
23.1 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Property: Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 5 acres of park-like grounds amongst the internationally renowned wineries of the Wairarapa wine region at Martinborough, Peppers Parehua Martinborough boasts panoramic views stretching to the Tararua Ranges. At Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing