We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fab location, lovely rooms and great resort. The only downside was that we booked for the restaurant when the whole dining room was booked by a group having a BBQ so the only two people not involved! The room was also cold as a result. Had we known we would have eaten in Martinborough... But for was good..... Breakfast buffet was also good but they do need a a new toaster!! So slow!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Peppers Parehua, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, you will also be please to know that we have 2 x new toasters - thank you for your comments.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,


Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    159
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
421
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here in Jan 2012. Was whisked away by my then partner to a total couple of nights of pure luxury and indulgence. The cottages are gorgeous, with really nice furnishings and the hot tub on the deck is so romantic! The restaurant is superb and the pool is nice in the sun. My partner proposed to me here (total surprise) and they set up a private dining table for 2 on our balcony. We dined among candles and saw a beautiful sunset. Fantastic service and luxury bathroom fittings too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellybaby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Peppers Parehua, yes our cottages are lovely and we are very glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We couldn't get there till late and they called us up and organised for our arrival, which was brilliant. Everything was perfect and super super quiet, such an enjoyable stay.

If there's anything to change, the internet was completely inaccessible, none of our devices could get through to it, which was fine since we tethered 3G in the end anyway We were a bit surprised that even though the site said that wifi was included, what was included was 15 minutes :/ The tv was also fairly bland, only about 10 channels, and but we didn't watch it so didn't bother us.

But if you're coming there to unwind, you couldn't ask for better settings, the food was gorgeous, the service brilliant. 15 minute walk to town, we walked to all the wineries :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, very secluded, though if you want to use the outdoor jacuzzi this one has one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openupyoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your comments on our Resort.

We at at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are glad to hear you had a tranquil stay with us,
Due to the windy Wairarapa weather our internet was down for about 3 weeks, however this was available complimentary from the reception and restaurant areas. We are pleased to advise that the Wifi is now working again in all areas of the resort.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was a pleasant spot to stay in vineyard countryside. Just a comfortable 1 and ½ hours’ drive north of Wellington. It was a small establishment and our secluded cottage was very spacious, well-furnished and comfortable with a beautiful outlook over the lush countryside. Breakfast both mornings was very good. The first night we had dinner at the hotel which was average but adequate. However, one glass of red wine was definitely off, the taste vile and the smell toxic. At our request this was replaced but without comment. Wine by the glass arrived at the table already poured out. We did not see the particular bottles that they were poured out from. The bar looked like it had bottles half empty that may have been opened some time.
The internet system needs to be upgraded dramatically. We specifically selected this hotel because my husband needed reliable internet for business meetings to Canberra, Australia on our second day. The WiFi signal in the accommodation was very weak and slow. It did seem unusual that we did not need to sign for our dinner at the restaurant or that we did not get a printed receipt when we checked out. Overall it is a pretty place in the country to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property,

We at at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with.
Due to the windy Wairarapa weather our internet was down for about 3 weeks, however this was available complimentary from the reception and restaurant areas. We are pleased to advise that the Wifi is now working again in all areas of the resort.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely setting, comfortable spacious room, nice outdoor seating area, communal pool area and tennis court etc. A few things that could improve the place - breakfast was a bit basic and not really 5 star quality, towels weren't cleared away from pool and left there for several hours, toiletries weren't replaced, there was no turn down service, wifi was problematic. Staff were unhelpful and impolite regarding wifi and my husband had some urgent work to do. They said that it was always a problem and that lots of people complained ! This made it very difficult for us to do any work and a bit stressful as we'd checked they had wifi before we booked. Anyway, in the end we did manage to get some weak wifi and get the job done....but reception staff were not helpful and quite rude about this surprisingly! I would definitely stay there though as is very lovely but juts be aware of the issues.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joandgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team here at Peppers Parehua Martinborough are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you would definitely return.
Due to the windy Wairarapa weather our internet was down for about 3 weeks, however this was available complimentary from the reception and restaurant areas. We are pleased to advise that the Wifi is now working again in all areas of the resort.

We enjoyed having you here and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here as part of our "babymoon", one last relaxing weekend away before the little one arrives. The service from start to finish was wonderful and we were thrilled when we walked into our secluded cottage - beautifully decorated and so so comfortable. Nothing here is done in halves - a really calm and quiet environment. The bed was ridiculously comfortable with gorgeous linen - being heavily pregnant I don't count on good sleeps lately but I was out to it. The cedar hot tub out on the deck was an absolute treat and even the shower is worth raving about! Food at the restaurant is divine, in particular I LOVED the duck, have never tasted anything so good! Breakfast was delicious, sorry to all others who came to breakfast that morning, it was me who ate all the danishes - although staff regularly replenished everything. The staff were naturally friendly and efficient. Cant recommend this place enough if like us, you just want to get away from everyone and everything for a weekend. Thank you Peppers Parehua

Room Tip: We booked a Secluded Cottage and it lived up to its name. Has a cedar hot tub also which was icing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Kia Ora Anna G,

Thank you for your kind review on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your "babymoon" and that your stay was comfortable and peaceful.

We hope to welcome the 3 of you back soon and all the very best with your new bundle.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I cannot recommend this place enough - for the price we paid, I think you would struggle to get better value elsewhere. The room was absolutely BEAUTIFUL and thoughtfully designed with a large, comfortable bed, and good solid walls meaning that you are not bothered by noises coming from outside or the neighbouring room. The furnishings are very tasteful & it felt luxuriant. There was also a lovely private seating area accessed by sliding patio doors; we sat there one evening, and it was such a clear night we could watch shooting stars. In addition to all of this, I really liked that all the accommodation is wheel-chair accessible, so anyone could stay there without a problem.

The facilities are also great; there is a large swimming pool, pavilion bar, tennis court, petanque area, and croquet. In addition to this, the staff were really friendly, particularly the team working in the restaurant. They chatted to us at each meal and were just so friendly & approachable.

We would absolutely love to stay here again - a real highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missechsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Kia Ora,

Thank you for your positive comments on Peppers Parehua Martinborough, the team are very happy to hear that you found Peppers Parehua to be a highlight of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
0.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
23.1 mi away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.9 mi away
Brackenridge Country Retreat
Brackenridge Country Retreat
#4 of 8 in Martinborough
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Property: Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 5 acres of park-like grounds amongst the internationally renowned wineries of the Wairarapa wine region at Martinborough, Peppers Parehua Martinborough boasts panoramic views stretching to the Tararua Ranges. At Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing