We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”

Shy Cottage & Piquillo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greytown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shy Cottage & Piquillo
Ranked #3 of 6 Greytown B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Shy Cottage is a good size and in an excellent location. It's comfortable, homely and has incredibly soft towels! Set back from the main road it's peaceful and relaxing.

The food was great. A bowl of fruit and jar of cookies were refilled throughout our stay. Fresh breads and pastries were delivered daily. All the ingredients for breakfast were provided: a platter of local sausages, bacon, eggs, chopped mushrooms and tomatoes; three cereals, stewed fruit, fresh yoghurt, local jams/marmalades; a choice of butter or margarine; apple juice and milk. We couldn't eat everything in one meal; there was always enough left to do a lunch, snack or dessert.

Our hosts' generosity seemed limitless. Nothing was too much trouble: late checkout, extra supplies, free return travel to the train station. We're not coffee or tea drinkers: if we'd mentioned this before or during our stay I've no doubt that alternative provisions would have been supplied for us. Great place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Lovely little B & B off the main street in Greytown. Very comfortable bed everything clean neat and tidy. Breakfast was a great start to the day. Would stay again - no hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Great place to stay - very cosy and comfortable. Amazing breakfast, lovely flowers from the garden in vases, only wish we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Looking for a place to stay after a long drive and stumbled across the shy cottage. We stayed in the two person unit and found it to be excellent for the price charged. The unit had lots of room with everything we needed. The hosts were very friendly and let us use their laundry which is not normally part of the deal and were generally very nice and helpful throughout our stay.

The breakfast is brought deleveried from the french bakery near the accomadation and really hit the spot. The location is a 2 minute walk to the main shops in town. For the price charged we felt this was excellent accomadation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChienRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
0.3 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
The Saddlery
The Saddlery
#2 of 6 in Greytown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shy Cottage & Piquillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shy Cottage & Piquillo

Property: Shy Cottage & Piquillo
Address: 39 Main Street, Greytown 5712, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Greytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shy Cottage,a charming self contained holiday cottage in the back of our private garden. The bedroom with a comfortable queen size bed has an en-suite attached with shower and old fashioned claw bath. There is also a lounge and dining area and fully equipped kitchen, a private court yard and barbecue shed. Piquillo is our apartment style accommodation very comfortably furnished and lots of personal touches, which will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing