We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stables" yeah right.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turkey Red Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Greytown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While this converted garage is finished to a good enough standard, the toilet facilities at the back of the pub are so gross we chose to walk half a block to use the public toilets instead. Noisy late night pub patrons kept us from a good nights sleep as well.

On futher investigation we could have got a better deal ($60 a night more though) just down the road at a fresh little motel away for pup smoke and noisy late night patrons.

Unfortunately I paid Turkey Red up front for our 2 night stay and they wouldnt give me a refund when we tried to vacate after the first night.

They're a struggling business and it shows

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

travelling through and looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. We choose Turkey Red. They had a lunch special on. The food didn't look large when served but was surprisingly good especially the Chicken and Leek pie which was a 10/10. The outdoor area was good - they had plenty of seating and outdoor chess board and badminton nets to entertain. Handy as we had two teenagers with us. The toilets were not as good as they could have been but were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LianneJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place sucked.We booked through a Grabone Deal.They omitted to tell us there was a 40th party booked that night.Meal was very small..Room was clean but shared amenities not great.Worst thing was room was right over pub and music just pounded away.We left and went home in the middle of the night.When I rang owner to tell her she admitted she should have told us how noisy it would be.She was not interested in giving a refund.I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

The only 40th Birthday that the Hotel has hosted was in June. The reveiwer states they stayed in July 2013 . All guests who booked in that Saturday where told of the event prior and asked if they would prefer another night.
We had several different groups staying who joined in the celebrations. A review has been posted regarding this birthday celebration. All refunds are done through Grabone and not the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a luxury 5 star resort experience then this is not for you. But, if you like value for money and a comfortable country pub experience, then go for it. Turkey Red is a renovated old country pub with a funky feel. The rooms, while not large, are a pleasant surprise. The bathrooms are shared and are clean and tidy and you have dressing gowns supplied. The service is warm and friendly and the food is tasty. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel represents very poor value for money. Don't bother with the food, it is overpriced and you will be left hungry - overcooked meat, undercooked vegetables.
As others have mentioned, the facilities are run down and the rooms are very small.
The worst part was there is no sound baffling between the pub underneath so don't expect to get any sleep. We got up in the middle of the night and drove home.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a Grab One deal, and this gave us a room and two course meal and wine for two people. We were pleasantly surprised at how much value we received for this deal. The room wasn't huge, but was very clean and nicely appointed. The shared bathroom facilities were fine. The meal was tasty, our only comment would be it would have been nice to have a veg or a smidgen of salad on the plate too (we both had the steak and chips, but it lacked greenery). Excellent value overall, and a lovely weekend break. Pleasant staff too. Many thanks.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kiwiquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I organised to have my 40th birthday party at Turkey Red on the 29th of June. I did not stay in the hotel, as I live locally but I had friends who did and thought the rooms were lovely and comfortable. I found the staff to be very friendly and efficent and they made our group feel welcome on arrival. They even took us home at the end of the night. I organised a D.J. through one of the staff members and we were not disappointed. We ate canape style food which was delicious and well worth the money spent. A lot of fun with great staff and a great venue. Thank to the team at TurkeyRed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greytown hotels
0.1 mi away
Greytown Hotel
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#2 of 3 in Greytown
172 reviews
1 mi away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Saddlery
The Saddlery
#2 of 6 in Greytown
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Briarwood
Briarwood
#1 of 4 in Greytown
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turkey Red Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkey Red Country Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street, Greytown 5712, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Greytown
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a new backpackers suite The Stables for budget accommodation.We can accommodate groups of up to 24poeple in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Turkey Red Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing