We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turkey Red Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan(Greytown)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greytown Hotel(Greytown)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Martinborough Hotel(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Motel & Apartments(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterton Motor Lodge(Masterton)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton(Masterton)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
10
21
12
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
21
12
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree course meallive bandroad noiseoutdoor areaenjoyed our staydealcathyheapswairarapanzhoststhemetreat
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While this converted garage is finished to a good enough standard, the toilet facilities at the back of the pub are so gross we chose to walk half a block to use the public toilets instead. Noisy late night pub patrons kept us from a good nights sleep as well.

On futher investigation we could have got a better deal ($60 a night more though) just down the road at a fresh little motel away for pup smoke and noisy late night patrons.

Unfortunately I paid Turkey Red up front for our 2 night stay and they wouldnt give me a refund when we tried to vacate after the first night.

They're a struggling business and it shows

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

travelling through and looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. We choose Turkey Red. They had a lunch special on. The food didn't look large when served but was surprisingly good especially the Chicken and Leek pie which was a 10/10. The outdoor area was good - they had plenty of seating and outdoor chess board and badminton nets to entertain. Handy as we had two teenagers with us. The toilets were not as good as they could have been but were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LianneJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place sucked.We booked through a Grabone Deal.They omitted to tell us there was a 40th party booked that night.Meal was very small..Room was clean but shared amenities not great.Worst thing was room was right over pub and music just pounded away.We left and went home in the middle of the night.When I rang owner to tell her she admitted she should have told us how noisy it would be.She was not interested in giving a refund.I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

The only 40th Birthday that the Hotel has hosted was in June. The reveiwer states they stayed in July 2013 . All guests who booked in that Saturday where told of the event prior and asked if they would prefer another night.
We had several different groups staying who joined in the celebrations. A review has been posted regarding this birthday celebration. All refunds are done through Grabone and not the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a luxury 5 star resort experience then this is not for you. But, if you like value for money and a comfortable country pub experience, then go for it. Turkey Red is a renovated old country pub with a funky feel. The rooms, while not large, are a pleasant surprise. The bathrooms are shared and are clean and tidy and you have dressing gowns supplied. The service is warm and friendly and the food is tasty. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel represents very poor value for money. Don't bother with the food, it is overpriced and you will be left hungry - overcooked meat, undercooked vegetables.
As others have mentioned, the facilities are run down and the rooms are very small.
The worst part was there is no sound baffling between the pub underneath so don't expect to get any sleep. We got up in the middle of the night and drove home.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews