We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turkey Red Country Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Greytown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having driven 600km because of car problems I was absolutely shattered and all I wanted was a decent meal and an early night. I ordered fish and chips. Fish was still frozen in middle. It is now nearly midnight and my room is over the bar with music pounding away. I can hear very word of songs. Its like being down in the middle of it. This is probably the worst place I have ever stayed in. Am seriously thinking of leaving to sleep in my car.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurkeyRed G, Manager at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi M,

Thanks for the feedback -we are really disappointed that your stay was not great. TurkeyRed is a country pub with accommodation and does have music playing as most pubs do at the weekends, we do try to quieten it down realtively early... the weekend just gone was a big weekend in the Wairarapa and there were quite a few people out and about/staying which makes the pub busier and open later. I understand you had not pre-booked and just popped in to see if we had a room? The pub would have been busy around then which may have given you an indication of the environment. As for the meal, that certainly is not good, if you had made us aware at the time we would have sorted it out for you on the spot. Please accept our apologies,

TurkeyRed Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Turkey Red Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Had a grab one for two nights and a 3 course meal.This is a very old hotel but very clean and wondersful service.The meal was lovely and very generous. Being on the main highway you do get a lot of traffic noise. The highlight of our stay is we were upstairs in our room when the earthquake struck and that certainly was an experience but the old girl kept standing even through the rock and rolling.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While this converted garage is finished to a good enough standard, the toilet facilities at the back of the pub are so gross we chose to walk half a block to use the public toilets instead. Noisy late night pub patrons kept us from a good nights sleep as well.

On futher investigation we could have got a better deal ($60 a night more though) just down the road at a fresh little motel away for pup smoke and noisy late night patrons.

Unfortunately I paid Turkey Red up front for our 2 night stay and they wouldnt give me a refund when we tried to vacate after the first night.

They're a struggling business and it shows

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

travelling through and looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. We choose Turkey Red. They had a lunch special on. The food didn't look large when served but was surprisingly good especially the Chicken and Leek pie which was a 10/10. The outdoor area was good - they had plenty of seating and outdoor chess board and badminton nets to entertain. Handy as we had two teenagers with us. The toilets were not as good as they could have been but were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LianneJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place sucked.We booked through a Grabone Deal.They omitted to tell us there was a 40th party booked that night.Meal was very small..Room was clean but shared amenities not great.Worst thing was room was right over pub and music just pounded away.We left and went home in the middle of the night.When I rang owner to tell her she admitted she should have told us how noisy it would be.She was not interested in giving a refund.I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurkeyRed G, Owner at Turkey Red Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

The only 40th Birthday that the Hotel has hosted was in June. The reveiwer states they stayed in July 2013 . All guests who booked in that Saturday where told of the event prior and asked if they would prefer another night.
We had several different groups staying who joined in the celebrations. A review has been posted regarding this birthday celebration. All refunds are done through Grabone and not the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a luxury 5 star resort experience then this is not for you. But, if you like value for money and a comfortable country pub experience, then go for it. Turkey Red is a renovated old country pub with a funky feel. The rooms, while not large, are a pleasant surprise. The bathrooms are shared and are clean and tidy and you have dressing gowns supplied. The service is warm and friendly and the food is tasty. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel represents very poor value for money. Don't bother with the food, it is overpriced and you will be left hungry - overcooked meat, undercooked vegetables.
As others have mentioned, the facilities are run down and the rooms are very small.
The worst part was there is no sound baffling between the pub underneath so don't expect to get any sleep. We got up in the middle of the night and drove home.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
0.2 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greytown Hotel
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
25 reviews
9.5 mi away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Saddlery
The Saddlery
#2 of 6 in Greytown
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turkey Red Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkey Red Country Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street, Greytown 5712, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Greytown
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a new backpackers suite The Stables for budget accommodation.We can accommodate groups of up to 24poeple in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Turkey Red Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing