We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best We've Had Yet!”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We purchased the Grab One $180 deal for a three course meal and Overnight Suite. The food at the White Swan was truly stand out. We started with the Celeriac Soup which while a touch over generous in portion size was nevertheless superb, and the Chicken Pâté - just divine. For our second course we had Twice Cooked Pork belly and Angus Beef Fillet. The plating and flavours of both were truly knockout and for me, that Pork was the best meal I have had EVER. We finished with one dessert to share (Choc Espresso Mousse) as we were fit to burst and it was the ideal end to a spectacular meal. The suite was well sized and warm, with lovely garden views. Service was 5 star and friendly. Thank you for a magnificent night away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archerscruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We took advantage of a Treat Me deal, $199 for a night's accommodation in a room of our choice plus a 3-course meal for 2.
Each of the rooms in the main building has a different theme. Based purely on photos on the hotel's website we chose the Bombay room. We were a bit underwhelmed by the room. Whatever atmosphere is created by colourful soft furnishings and the carved 4-poster bed was rather muted by safe hotel-white walls and unexciting carpet. I think we'd have been disappointed if we'd paid the full asking price, especially as it's a pretty small room.
The Bombay room is at the back of the hotel, away from the main road, making it one of the quieter rooms apparently. Although the bed is small it was comfortable. What wasn't so good was temperature control. The heater heats the room very inefficiently, so it was cold when we arrived. Although we turned the heater up it was still cold when we came back up after our dinner, so we turned it up full bore, with the inevitable result that the room was over hot by morning.
Nevertheless, the our 3-course dinner made this a lovely getaway, and the whole deal fantastic value for money. The dining room is a lovely space, the service was good, and the food was delicious and attractively presented. We particularly liked the whole baby vegetables served with the steak. A slightly discordant note was struck by the pastry of my pecan pie which fell far short of the standard of the rest of the meal. I wondered if it had been pre-bought?
Now that we know what to expect, we would love to explore some of the other rooms. I don't think I'd ever want to pay full price for them as I think they're pretty expensive for what you get, but if a similar deal came up, I'd grab it, and head over the hill for another relaxing break!

Room Tip: Bombay room was small, but on the quiet side of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have been coming here on and off for a couple of years and every time we are in the hope of it getting better. Not to be.
This last time was to celebrate a nieces birthday and it was her choice.
Firstly we we given wrong drinks, then wrong menu's, then when the food finally came out, the portions were snack size.
We had to get up and pour our won water, stand at the bar for ages to get a drink, the staff were young and too busy catching up with each other to bother with customers. So over all, pretty sad and bad experience and needless to say, it will be a looooong time before we return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MissYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Excellent service and food. Worst storms in New Zealand and the curtains didn't even move. Honestly as complete stress free break and the food is first class. Excellent is all we can say!!
The suite was very modern and clean and modern design. The food was master chef quality. We were fortunate to eat food that the Palaces chef had prepared in England this was as good. TIP don't share the pate lol

Room Tip: We Chose Madison suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We took advantage of the Treat me deal for $199 and stayed in The George suite. If you want spacious and grand then this is the one for you. It has a separate bedroom and a large bathroom with a bath...very luxurious. We had a peek in all the rooms. The Madisson is also very large and would definitely be worth staying in. The White room would be my next pick followed by the Ruby although this seemed much darker and smaller. To be honest I wouldn't really go for the others but that may be a personal preference.
The George faces out onto the main street of Greytown but wasn't noisy when we stayed (Sun). It has a lovely balcony as do the Ruby and the Hunter rooms, tho the George has a much larger space outside. The Madisson has a small balcony and faces the carpark so would be quieter.
The 3 course dinner at the restaurant was gorgeous. All up a fabulously relaxing stay and for $199 you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our second stay at the White Swan - and we enjoyed our time there. Staff were welcoming and helpful. The heater had been put on ahead of our arrival so we appreciated walking into a warm room on a cool overcast afternoon. We were upstairs in a Garden Studio, well appointed with a comfortable bed. A couple of maintenance issues for Garden Studio 3 - there is no shelf in the bathroom and so nowhere to put things (the brackets for the shelf that was once there are sitting empty). One of the lights was hanging out of the ceiling. Small things but we expected better. While I'm on the negatives - there was considerable noise of running water when our downstairs neighbors showered late at night (presumably they endured the same when we showered in the morning?). Very good dinner and breakfast. On reflection I can only give an "average" for the room which is disappointing.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A group friends joined us for a week-end in Greytown. We stayed at the White Swan Hotel and our room was one of the Garden Apartments. The apartment was great, plenty of space, lovely living room overlooking the restful park with a patio area. Separate bedroom and comfortable bed. Management and staff were friendly, always with a smile and nothing was a problem. Food was tasty, well presented and enjoyed by all...highly recommend the Lamb Shank....mouth watering!!!The location of the Hotel is perfect handy to everything. A most enjoyable week-end thanks White Swan we will return!!!

Room Tip: LOved the space of the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greytown
11.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
9 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#1 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greytown Hotel
Greytown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Greytown
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
8.8 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: Main St., Greytown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greytown
Price Range: £83 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Greytown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing