We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B I have ever stayed at”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greytown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwood Country House
Ranked #4 of 6 Greytown B&B and Inns
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best B&B I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Great B&B. Very friendly and helpful host. Beautiful house and grounds. Superb breakfast and really comfortable room. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We were given a voucher to stay for the weekend. Greytown is a great little town 90 minutes from Wellington and perfect for a weekend away. The house is placed at the end of a drive, surrounded by a lovely "English" garden. Jill, the owner and host welcomes you into her home like a long lost friend. The room was spacious with a modern bathroom, side room and a huge king bed. The TV was little but who wants to watch TV in this place. Jill welcomes you into her main lounge where the grand piano sits in the corner and to our luck we were entertained by another guest while Jill provided a glass of wine and we met the other guests. Breakfast was served outside by the pool, a combination of delicious fresh fruit, coffee and a restaurant quality egg, bacon and mushroom. It was hard to leave. We were made to feel very welcome. This turned out to be a wonderful gift. We would happily offer it to any of our special friends. This would have to be one of the nicest, friendliest B&B in New Zealand. Congratulations.

  • Liked — The friendly host Jill
  • Disliked — The tiny TV
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gastro_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

This was our second time staying here. The first time was just as a couple and we went back this second time with friends as we had enjoyed it so much. The rooms are beautiful, nothing you could fault. The house is fantastic, especially the piano and the big open fire. The hostess is just brilliant and will make you feel so welcome and looks after your every need. The breakfast is amazing and all you could wish for. We will certainly be going back to stay again. Great location as you can just walk straight over the the Main Street for dinner.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Plus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

A small private home with luxury rooms, quality linen, towels, an open fire, lovely bathrooms and a beautiful garden. Just spent a weekend here and really enjoyed exploring Greytown and the vineyards around Martinborough. Property is about an hour north of Wellington, before Masterton. They have 11 sheep and we saw 2 lambs arrive, also have ducks, very country, very nice place to stay.

  • Liked — Immaculately clean, extremely comfortable, nice little township, relaxing
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwijackNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greytown hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
The Saddlery
The Saddlery
#2 of 6 in Greytown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Motel
Greyfriars Motel
#1 of 6 in Greytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyett House
Wyett House
#2 of 5 in Greytown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briarwood
Briarwood
#1 of 5 in Greytown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Country House

Property: Westwood Country House
Address: 9 Westwood Avenue, Greytown, Greytown 5712, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Greytown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Greytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing