We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pawhaoa Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pawhaoa Bay Lodge
Ranked #23 of 85 Bay of Islands B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were looking for somewhere to spend the last few days of our two week visit to the Northland. We’d been pretty much on the go for most of the trip, but wanted to just relax for a couple of days.

Pawhaoa Bay Lodge fitted our needs perfectly – remote enough to be off the beaten track but suitably luxurious to feel pampered. The lodge is set in beautifully maintained grounds on the waterfront, and is only a few kilometres beyond the end of a sealed road.

We stayed in one of rooms in the main Lodge building, which had a deck facing out to Whangaruru Harbour. The room was excellently designed with a very comfortable bed, plus a large bathroom with a bath and a shower.

There are kayaks provide for guest use and my wife took one out on the Harbour – greatly enjoying the exercise.

Our hosts, Bill and Claire, were very convivial and we enjoyed several long conversations with them. Claire is an excellent cook and had contacted us prior to arrival to determine what our meal preferences were. All the meals were delicious and wonderfully presented.

There is WiFi provided but the Internet connection is via Mobile Broadband, so we were asked to only use WiFi for email and simple web browsing. Since we had Telecom NZ 3G/4G access with plenty of quota available on our own mobile devices, we just used them directly on 3G. The Mobile Broadband signal strength was good despite the remote location – I gather the cell tower is on the other side of the Harbour and is pretty much in line-of-site to the lodge.

There was no off-air TV reception in our room, but a DVD player and screen was provided in the room together with a catalogue of several hundred DVDs to choose from (we enjoyed watching “A Prairie Home Companion”).

We greatly enjoyed our stay and Pawhaoa Bay Lodge and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Pawhaoa Bay Lodge with our 4 children (ages 16-22) and had an amazing time! Peaceful setting, Claire is an amazing cook who spoiled us with asking our favorite dishes and being very sensitive to our food allergies. Bill and Claire and very thoughtful and always on top of everything to make sue you are comfortable at all times! Great selection of games, movies…. Nature walks with gorgeous views! Can't say enough how comfortable the lodge is!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knebpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Pawhaoa Bay Lodge. It was an impressive lodge to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is about 45 minutes from Russell. It's very remote. This is the place to "do nothing" but relax and get in touch with nature.The drive there was very scenic, beautiful farms and hilly coastal views of the bays. The lodge was beautiful.

Bill and Claire are true nature lovers and it shows in their garden. Wow! It's like the Garden of Eden! We were surrounded by beautiful flowers, plants, trees and birds! They love birds so you wake up to beautiful sounds of birds chirping and singing every morning. And the gentle waves of the bay. We have the bay all to ourselves!

Every evening before dinner, Claire makes some awesome appetizers. We have a cocktail (non-alcoholic for us) on the beach watching the sunset. Then she makes us a 3 course dinner that is equivalent to that of a 5-star restaurant!

Bill and Claire were exceptional hosts. We had lots of fun and laughter with them, hearing about their travel adventures. We highly recommend this place for those of you who want to get away from the city stress and get in touch with nature. You feel like you've had a week at the spa! Totally rejuvenated! Wonderful experience.

Dave & Lucy (Hawaii)

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lodge as opposed to the Villas. We like the Lodge - it is comfortable and makes yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LConwayUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hard, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in the Lodge for the weekend for two days. The first positive impression we got already before our stay from the very personal e-mails from Claire. She gave us a feeling of being their personal guests and sent us tips for the drive (visiting the galary on our way).
The spot is just great. Bill cares about the wonderful garden and made a paradise out of it. You are in direct contact with the beautiful nature and still have the all around comfort. The villas, the terrace or the spot at the water for a sundowner fit very well into the surroundings.
Claire and Bill are entertaining hosts but with a good feeling of the privat sphere. They prepared a special little surprise for Urs birthday and even sang "Happy Birthday" - so "all inclusive service". The food was excellent - great weekend, great place, wonderful people, always to come back to.
Urs and Ruth

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We (Mum, Dad, Daughter 16, and Son 13) spent 10 nights at the lodge this summer.

Everything exceeded our expectations. The meals were fantastic, healthy and varied. Dinner, preceded by drinks watching the sunset, was always beautifully presented with an emphasis on local produce.

Our accommodation was spacious and very comfortable with decks that opened on to the beach. We had the run of the remainder of lodge including a huge lounge with a wide variety of books and a mammoth collection of DVDs.

Swimming and kayaking is at the doorstep and there are interesting walks close by. Mini-golf (with house rules) is a lot of fun.

Claire and Bill were wonderful hosts – they made our holiday a really relaxing and enjoyable experience. We have many wonderful memories of our time at Pawhaoa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waiwetu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

If you want to be pampered this is the place to go. Bill and Claire are exceptionally convivial hosts. The accommodation is very comfortable, the food superb, and the setting in gardens right on the beach would be hard to match. Superb place to spend time if you need to get away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My first impression of this extraordinary place was through emails to Claire. She was incredibly helpful with more than just our stay there at the lodge. From the first questions asked, she was just 'on top of things'. We communicated back and forth a few times and her helpfulness and knowledge of the area made our trip that much more enjoyable. Besides being delightful people, Claire and Bill made sure that every part of our stay was enjoyable, comfortable and memorable. We were there to relax and we did lots of that in addition to horseback riding, swimming and kayaking in the breathtaking scenery of The Bay of Islands. AND, if you love food, Claire is an excellent chef and we enjoyed many mouthwatering dishes, including fresh fish caught by Bill! Even my picky 15 year old found something at each meal (which Claire made sure about ahead of time).
All in all a wonderful stay at the Lodge. We felt right at home!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay of Islands
15.9 mi away
Bed of Roses
Bed of Roses
#10 of 23 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hopewell B&B
Hopewell B&B
#6 of 32 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
15.1 mi away
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
16.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ounuwhao Harding House
#5 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pawhaoa Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pawhaoa Bay Lodge

Property: Pawhaoa Bay Lodge
Address: 946 Whangaruru North Road, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Bay of Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pawhaoa Bay Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pawhaoa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing