We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous stay”
Review of Pawhaoa Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pawhaoa Bay Lodge
Ranked #26 of 76 Bay of Islands B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I were in the area for 6 days working on a magazine feature story on New Zealand's North Island; we feel so fortunate to have found Pawhaoa (and Claire and Bill). We were trekking and scuba diving every day, and every evening, we came home to our quiet, luxurious villa overlooking the lovely bay. A shower or soak later, we'd meet Claire and Bill for "nibbles" and yummy wine and laughs...and then would come dinner. (Oh, my gosh, the dinners. I have been home for weeks, and I am still dreaming about Claire's lamb, so much so that a poor girl at our local organic grocery store heard all about it just this afternoon.) This place was incredible in every way, and we can't wait to plan a return trip in a couple of years!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent five nights here and stayed in one of the villas. Claire and Bill are wonderful hosts, making our stay, despite two days of torrential rain, very memorable. The sun finally came out and the views and the location are beautiful. The food was delicious and the hospitality was warm and welcoming. We would recommend this place to all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband, our 13 month-old son and I stayed with Bill and Claire at Pawhaoa Bay Lodge for four nights as a treat to end a long visit with family on the North Island. We could not have been happier with our stay. The lodge and grounds are gorgeous inside and out. We were incredibly charmed by the beach, gardens, bay and hiking trails all located on or within steps of the property. We stayed in one of the two villas and were so pleased with how comfortable and tastefully-designed it was. The master bathroom was so lovely - a wonderful place to bathe with a gorgeous view of the bay. The breakfast was ample and delicious, with great coffee, cereals, fruits, toast and egg dishes. We treated ourselves to a dinner on the veranda and Claire's cooking did not disappoint. The entire experience was beyond what we had hoped for and we would recommend Pawhaoa Bay Lodge to anyone looking to have a quiet and relaxing stay in a serene and beautiful part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We visited on the recommendation of family and were not disappointed. It is a bit out of the way but worth the drive if you enjoy class,beauty and solitude. This classy boutique lodge has amazing gardens, beautifully designed buildings, an amazing ocean frontage and gourmet meals if desired. A special thank you to Clare and Bill, our friendly and accommodating hosts.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were looking for somewhere to spend the last few days of our two week visit to the Northland. We’d been pretty much on the go for most of the trip, but wanted to just relax for a couple of days.

Pawhaoa Bay Lodge fitted our needs perfectly – remote enough to be off the beaten track but suitably luxurious to feel pampered. The lodge is set in beautifully maintained grounds on the waterfront, and is only a few kilometres beyond the end of a sealed road.

We stayed in one of rooms in the main Lodge building, which had a deck facing out to Whangaruru Harbour. The room was excellently designed with a very comfortable bed, plus a large bathroom with a bath and a shower.

There are kayaks provide for guest use and my wife took one out on the Harbour – greatly enjoying the exercise.

Our hosts, Bill and Claire, were very convivial and we enjoyed several long conversations with them. Claire is an excellent cook and had contacted us prior to arrival to determine what our meal preferences were. All the meals were delicious and wonderfully presented.

There is WiFi provided but the Internet connection is via Mobile Broadband, so we were asked to only use WiFi for email and simple web browsing. Since we had Telecom NZ 3G/4G access with plenty of quota available on our own mobile devices, we just used them directly on 3G. The Mobile Broadband signal strength was good despite the remote location – I gather the cell tower is on the other side of the Harbour and is pretty much in line-of-site to the lodge.

There was no off-air TV reception in our room, but a DVD player and screen was provided in the room together with a catalogue of several hundred DVDs to choose from (we enjoyed watching “A Prairie Home Companion”).

We greatly enjoyed our stay and Pawhaoa Bay Lodge and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Pawhaoa Bay Lodge with our 4 children (ages 16-22) and had an amazing time! Peaceful setting, Claire is an amazing cook who spoiled us with asking our favorite dishes and being very sensitive to our food allergies. Bill and Claire and very thoughtful and always on top of everything to make sue you are comfortable at all times! Great selection of games, movies…. Nature walks with gorgeous views! Can't say enough how comfortable the lodge is!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knebpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Pawhaoa Bay Lodge. It was an impressive lodge to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is about 45 minutes from Russell. It's very remote. This is the place to "do nothing" but relax and get in touch with nature.The drive there was very scenic, beautiful farms and hilly coastal views of the bays. The lodge was beautiful.

Bill and Claire are true nature lovers and it shows in their garden. Wow! It's like the Garden of Eden! We were surrounded by beautiful flowers, plants, trees and birds! They love birds so you wake up to beautiful sounds of birds chirping and singing every morning. And the gentle waves of the bay. We have the bay all to ourselves!

Every evening before dinner, Claire makes some awesome appetizers. We have a cocktail (non-alcoholic for us) on the beach watching the sunset. Then she makes us a 3 course dinner that is equivalent to that of a 5-star restaurant!

Bill and Claire were exceptional hosts. We had lots of fun and laughter with them, hearing about their travel adventures. We highly recommend this place for those of you who want to get away from the city stress and get in touch with nature. You feel like you've had a week at the spa! Totally rejuvenated! Wonderful experience.

Dave & Lucy (Hawaii)

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lodge as opposed to the Villas. We like the Lodge - it is comfortable and makes yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LConwayUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bay of Islands hotels
15.0 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
14.6 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
330 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
459 reviews
16.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
16.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pawhaoa Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pawhaoa Bay Lodge

Property: Pawhaoa Bay Lodge
Address: 946 Whangaruru North Road, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Bay of Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pawhaoa Bay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pawhaoa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing