We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magic Cottages at Takou River
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Bliss”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We loved our stay at Takou Lodge, would definately recommend to others looking for peace and
relaxation. Truly magical setting cant wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    12
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
145
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Do yourself a favour. Stay here. What a beautiful slice of New Zealand. Takou River is lovely. My new wife Lisa and I stayed 5 nights in the Lodge for our Honeymoon. We explored every inch of Takou River. From secluded swimming areas to a lovely 1 hour walk we couldn't fault this place. We had a rental car so we were able to explore Keri Keri and quite a few highlights of Northland New Zealand. Congratulations Anna and Ian on a beautiful property and outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed with our three kids for 7 nights in the spacious and very comfortable river lodge. We had a great time there and we enjoyed the beautiful garden around the lodge, the sea-kayaks (go fishing) and the chimney in the evenings. Our friendly host Tadjoe gave us useful informations about activities and sights in the surroundings (e.g. walks, horse trekking...)
It was a highlight of our NZ-journey.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clicker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Magic Cottage. What a perfect romantic getaway - stunning location, well equipped cottage, beautiful gardens to wonder around, kayaks to explore the river & beach, finished off by relaxing in the claw foot bath.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My partner and I recently spent the weekend at the river cottage and it was absolutely fantastic. I would reccommend to anyone who is considering a stay of any length at Takou Bay. The privacy and tranquility cannot be matched and the accomodation is extremely comfortable, with great kitchen and bbq for cooking dinner. The owner is very easy to deal with and hugely helpful and we were greeted by Tadjoe who was able to tell us lots about the local area, where to eat, where to go see etc etc. We followed nearly all of his advice and everything he suggested was excellent.

I could not reccommend this more highly! We will definitely be visiting again with our friends!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I (both early 30's) stayed in the shearers cottage for a weekend, in need of some serious relaxation. The cottage itself is very well appointed, and the property overall is just so peaceful and relaxing!
I can't sit still for long at the best of times so after a morning reading a book I was off to explore the river by Kayak. This would usually be a bit of an undertaking but I just wandered down to the boatshed in boardies and a t-shirt, threw on a lifejacket and off I went.
My wife was quite content to sit on the sunny deck reading and relaxing with Tuis and Kingfishers for company.
We stayed for 3 nights and took plenty of nice food and wine with us so we had no need to go anywhere, and this is definitely the way to do it.
Highly recommended - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Magic Cottage itself is great having stayed there before, and Shearers Cottage is nice and secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSmistyflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooks Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our son thoughtfully gave us a voucher for 3 nights with massages at this beautiful little cottage right on the edge of the Takou River about 20mins drive from Kerikeri township. Email contact was with "Anna" the owner but we did not meet Anna at all, even though we spoke on the phone one day. We were looked after by a very nice man who said he'd been their Caretaker for several years. Our stay there was during one of the coldest snaps in NZ's history and when he called in to say hello a few hours after our arrival, we were still wrapped up in our coats & scarves, as the little gas wall heater was hopelessly inadequate ! We were offered one of the larger houses as they had a fireplace but Magic Cottage was chosen for its unique position & is privacy so we chose to persevere with trying to heat up the cottage and make the best of what we had. The cottage power is run by battery and the hot water & heating by gas, so there is no main power supply to charge your cellphone or plug in any appliances eg hairdryer, laptop etc. That was OK though, we decided we could live without all that for 3 days. We came prepared to cook dinner ourselves in the cottage the first night as we were unsure of how accessible it was to town but we decided to have it cold when the light over the stove wasn't working and it became too dark to do any cooking as the rest of the lighting in the cottage is quite dim. Our lovely caretaker came back later in the evening with another blanket for the bed and a portable gas heater but unfortunately the gas ran out after 5 mins! There was nothing else for it, we filled up the hot water bottles & went to bed. We were laughing at ourselves lying in bed making "smoke signals" with our breath - it was freeeeezing!

The next day we were offered a power lead (plus an electric oil filled heater) that was run to the cottage that went in through a window. Yay, we were able to power up our cellphone, dry the hair & even watch a DVD on our laptop that night! The heater did the best job it could under extremely cold conditions........but heating up the cottage is always going to be a mission until you insulate the cottage and close up and seal the huge daylight gaps in the sliding door Anna!

Our massages were organised for us that afternoon & were absolute heaven. The outdoor bath was so lovely and the cottage was equipped well with nice touches, bathrobes, candles, incense and a comfortable window seat which we loved for late afternoon drinkies & reading. It just all would have been so much nicer for us if we had been warm! We also asked for new towels as it was impossible to dry them in the cold but never did find out what to do with our rubbish & empty bottles as the cottages aren't serviced ........no doubt about it, the location and ambience of Magic Cottage is special and a lovely spot in the summer I'm sure, but is it luxury (as the promotional material says)...........Mmmmmmm?

Room Tip: Magic Cottage is a lovely summer only retreat for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisWhitianga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
2.7 mi away
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
#1 of 1 in Matauri Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
8.7 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
10.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cocozen Lodge and Spa
Cocozen Lodge and Spa
#8 of 27 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pagoda Lodge
Pagoda Lodge
#7 of 27 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
9.1 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Cottages at Takou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Cottages at Takou River

Property: Magic Cottages at Takou River
Address: 660 Takou Bay Road | Northland, Kerikeri 0246, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Cottages at Takou River 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a short distance from Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands and voted one of the Top Ten Luxury Lodges in New Zealand, Magic Cottages at Takou River are secluded and beautiful riverside retreats set on the banks of the picturesque Takou River. Within earshot of the sea at Takou Bay and surrounded by 150 acres of certified organic pasture, native bush and 5 acres of sub-tropical gardens, the 4 cottages and recently completed Lodge provide boutique self-catering accommodation that is eco-friendly yet still indulgent.Peace, seclusion and tranquility abound - a beautiful private river frontage; 150 acres of organic farmland with marked walks along the river bank, through native bush and pastures to secluded swimming and picnic spots; magical glow worms; 5 acres of beautiful sub-tropical gardens to wander and explore; our private jetty and boat house with free kayaks, canoes and fishing rods; and last but not least, access to the beautiful deserted sandy beaches at Takou Bay a short paddle or drive downstream. Once you've finished exploring, relax and unwind in the privacy of your cottage with a pampering massage or spa treatment. To complete your stay, gourmet meals are also available by prior arrangement. Magic Cottages are centrally located to explore the wider Bay of Islands and Far North, yet hidden away from the hustle and bustle amid 150 acres of organic pasture, native bush and river frontage. Enjoy the flourishing birdlife; wander enchanted gardens and riverside walks; paddle to Takou Bay; relax, refresh and romance in the claw foot bath – or bask in the bliss of doing absolutely nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magic Cottages at Takou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Cottages At Takou River Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing