We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best value”
Review of Orchard Motel

Orchard Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Motel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best value”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is by far the best value motel we have stayed in NZ. Rooms have been renovated with modern furnishing so you get a quality spacious unit for a very reasonable rate. Kids also enjoyed their own room with bunks. Good location. highly recomended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paiaka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed for one night recently with my husband. Room was newly renovated; very clean and spacious. Would be good for families, too, as it has a swimming pool, spa and play area. Loved the outlook over the orchard. Good location with short walk to town centre.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which has a double room plus single bed in lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillynewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Clean room, newly renovated. Big bed. Spacious lounge. Sky tv that had formula 1 on when we arrived ( happy husband!)

We were originally meant to fly to kaitaia but got detoured to kerikeri. Bali hai motel in paihia which we meant to stay later in the week referred us here last minute and so glad they did.

5-10min walk into town.

Would hesitate to recommend it to others

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch3rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Good, clean sized rooms, bed uncomfy - roll together thing happening (might just be this particular room). Despite having our room sizes confirmed over the phone, it wasn't meant to be. A shame our group booking got messed up by the owners. As a result, a couple of the families were short of beds, so we had to split up the families and cram everyone in over 4 rooms - not ideal, but you make do. No hot water was available after 10pm on one of the nights, so a cold shower was had by some. Otherwise ok stay. Good location just 5 mins out of the city centre.

Room Tip: Make doubly sure they have booked you the correct room and they don't run out of hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillY389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Very much appreciated the owners, very friendly and went the extra mile to help us. The family room that was allocated to us was great, walking distance to town, great location - walking distance to gallery, orchards, food outlets etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viliteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Kerikeri is misleading in the location of a lot of it's accommodation. And you actually end up out of walking distance to the main shopping area quite easily contrary to what maps and websites may imply. But Orchard was perfectly positioned within walking distance to the main shops/supermarket/petrol station/cafe's and some of the tourist shops.

The room was a generous size, with fridge/hobs/microwave/kettle etc. And the all important water pressure of the shower was perfect! (we hate limp showers).

For a motel it was quite a nice place to stay for a few days. the room backs on to an orchard and there is a pool and spa although we never used them. They are on the main road in to Kerikeri which can concern you, but once it goes past 6pm the road is empty as the town shuts down.

The staff were lovely and when i needed to do laundry they freed up a machine they had been using for the towels and sheets so i didn't have to wait. They service the room and change your towels daily, which was slight overkill for out 6 day stay so we did turn them away here and there.

Room Tip: the studio room and rooms 1 through 4 are facing away from the main road so are quieter when the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicm_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Booked a one night stay at the Orchard Motel in KeriKeri. Although from the outside, the motel does not look like much, the looks are completely deceiving. This motel was the best choice I made during the 27 days I spent in NZ. The rooms were updated, spotless, and the bed was very comfy. The owners were very nice and helpful and obviously care about their facility.
I can't recommend this motel enough. If you are in KeriKeri, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
1.2 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.0 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Motel

Property: Orchard Motel
Address: Kerikeri Road and Hall Road | P.O.Box 904, Kerikeri, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchard Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing