We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A very welcoming retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were visiting Kerikeri to see a very close, sick friend. Tony and Wendy made us feel completely relaxed and we felt as if we were at home. The room was spotless and everything was thought of. Right down to the small flash light in the bedside table in case you needed to get up at night and not disturb your partner. The bed is divine, so comfortable!
Wendy was totally efficient with taking our breakfast order for the next day, so we were completed relaxed. The breakfast was lovely and the coffee good, unfortunately we had to tear ourselves away to visit friends. We could have stayed chatting all morning. I also thought it was great that there was plenty of room for our car and good access to the room.
We would use Treghan Cottage B & B again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden is delighful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
209
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My wife and me stayed at Treghan Cottage near the end of a month' s trip to New Zealand in which we stayed in a number of very good B & Bs. It ranked best overall and fully justified all the plaudits it receives. Wendy kindly upgraded us to the Tui room overlooking the attractive gardens. Like other guests, we enjoyed Wendy and Tony's company and can vouch for the excellence of the breakfasts which Wendy prepares in front of her guests whilst carrying on chatting. The recommendations they provided for dining and sightseeing were spot on and Wendy even provided us with a blanket to stretch out on the sand at a beach they suggested we visit and would have provided towels had we needed them! We were also able to visit the nearby kauri forest which we would never have found without their help. Wendy and Tony provided a professional service but with a very human touch. We had an all too short but very enjoyable stay in a delightful part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verdicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast & it was a wonderful experience. The room we had was very clean & tidy, serviced daily. Breakfasts were wonderful. Wendy used fresh, local ingredients as much as possible. It was lovely not only to get to know Wendy whilst we were having breakfast, but also meet the other couple who were staying there at the same time. Wendy had a vast knowledge of the area & not only recommended, but also booked restaurants & day trips for us.

Both Steve & I would thoroughly recommend this accomodation to other travellers & would certainly go back for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topaz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Wendy was the most wonderful host offering advice on the best sights and booking activities on our behalf leaving us to simply relax and enjoy our time in Kerikeri/ Bay of Islands. The breakfast menu is amazing with four options to choose from and tastes absolutely delcious. The room itself is decorated elegantly, comfortable, clean and modern, the bed in the Tui suite (where we stayed) is the perfect softness. We simply loved our time staying with Wendy at Treghan cottage and recommend this place as the perfect stay for a get away!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonmin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We enjoyed every minute of our stay with Wendy and Tony. We had trouble deciding which of the fabulous breakfasts to eat each morning and thankfully we were there for three days so we could taste at least three. Delicious! They sent us information ahead of time about what to do while there and made all of our reservations for us--some with a discount! Their suggestions for dining were excellent every time and our accommodation was superb--our own private entrance, patio where we could relax and they went out of their way to help us with every detail of our visit. We enjoyed both of them as well as a really spectacular few days in the Bay of Islands. If you go there....don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keukarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our hosts Wendy and Tony were most welcoming with plenty of information on places of interest.
It was great having their company whilst we enjoyed a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vab43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Wendy and Tony did their upmost to make our trip to Kerikeri unforgetable! Wendy provides the best information about the area and helps you use your time efficiently while taking in the sights or dining. Her recommendations were spot-on and we really appreciated that aspect. The rooms are meticulously clean and the furnishings and linens are top-notch (and Tony's a very good artist!). We looked forward to each breakfast because the food was very good and healthy, but more importantly was the conversations we'd have at breakfast with the two of them--great senses of humor and good insight into the culture of NZ! We would love to have them as guests in our home!

Room Tip: quiet, spotlessly clean, and up-to-date
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2dlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
1.2 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.7 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
4.6 mi away
Swallows Ridge
Swallows Ridge
#1 of 26 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.2 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treghan Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treghan Luxury Lodge

Property: Treghan Luxury Lodge
Address: 394B Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Treghan Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treghan luxury accommodation in the Bay of Islands New Zealand.....beautifully appointed self contained accommodation, wonderful rural vistas, abundant birdlife and within walking distance of Kerikeri. Multi award winning and rated in the top 25 B&Bs in 2015 & 2012. Located less than 1k to the town and set back from the road providing a quiet private luxury retreat. Set within private gardens, and with bush where you can hear the Kiwis calling at night, this sophisticated bed and breakfast accommodation is available in just three luxurious self contained cottages - Owner's Cottage, Birdsong Retreat and Tranquility Retreat - making our accommodation well appointed for a relaxing holiday, a golf retreat or a romantic get-away. Owner's Cottage is one bedroom with a king bedroom, fully equipped kitchenette, free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, and full breakfast provisions included in price (we are known for our delicious food). Birdsong and Tranquility Retreats have two bedrooms (each with super-king beds which can be reconfigured to twin beds), two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchens with dishwasher and laundry facilities. Full breakfast provisions are provided, organic where possible. Treghan Luxury Retreat is designed with your relaxation in mind. The separate guesthouses and cottage each have a private entrance and garden settings. You can relax with a glass of wine on your deck, unwind and take in the views. Jewellery and art on display and for sale along with other gifts at The Art Place gallery onsite. Centrally located for all trips, tours, vineyards and golf courses including Kauri Cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treghan Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing