We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil base”
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil base”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a fabulous place. Peaceful and beautiful, but a great base to visit the area. We only wished we had booked longer. The owner Willem was so welcoming and helpful, but not overbearing. We loved the friendly ducks and we have to mention Barbara the chicken. All good fun but not intrusive. You have to stay there to truly appreciate it, words don't do it justice

Room Tip: They are all high standard. If you want more space book a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
106
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This place is amazing. Willem has truly created a paradise. Five stars is not enough. Barbara the resident friendly chicken makes her regular visits.
Be sure to also visit the Pear Tree Restaurant in Kerikeri. Excellent food and very good value.
Would definitely return here if we come back to the area.
Thank you Willem.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Avalon Resort is simply amazing. A beautiful oasis just on the edge of Kerikeri, with views over a neighbouring golf course and surrounding countryside. The beautiful lagoon-style pool is second to none. Relax in a hammock/lounger and then dip into the pool/spa/sauna. We stayed in Cottage Earth, 2 adults + 2 teenagers. Outstanding luxury! Willem (host) is really helpful and welcoming. I will definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 699DonnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I am a regular at the Avalon resort and have been for a couple of years, Willem the host has made me so welcome over the time I have spent there and the accommodation is luxury and spotless. The trip is always made special by the warm welcome from Willem and the animals! Bitsy and Boobsy the pigs and the ducks are always around in the paddock and there is no better place to feel connected to nature. The evenings spent in the spa are also memorable and for the times when it rains there is a huge DVD collection in the office. I could not rate it highly enough!!!!

Room Tip: The cottage "Air" is right next to the paddocks with the pigs and the goats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My family and I spent 6 days at Avalon Resort and found the facilities very good. We made good use of the spring water pool and kayaks whilst there. It was great to wake up to the fresh clean air of the country side as we come from the big smoke - Auckland.

We recommend Avalon Resort if you are looking for a laid back weekend/ week. Stress free.

We stayed in the air cottage which is one of four and was very homely and recommend this to others.

Thank you to our host and his family for making us very welcome from the beginning to the end of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the Avalon resort for 2 nights was the weekend of the Keri Keri half marathon, We needed a place to relax & to recover from the marathon. The cottage we had was beautifully furnished with complimentry juice & really nice plunger coffee to welcome us also a loverly big bath to soak away the aches & pains that we received. There was also the use of a sauna if needed. We had veiws of tropical gardens a lake with friendly wild life(batman & Barbra) rolling hills which made for a very relaxing much needed out look & rest.Thank-you Willem for going the extr mile for us,will be back same time next year.

Room Tip: cottages are great for 2 or for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights oct 12, there are 4 self contained units surrounding some ponds in the centre of the property. The owner Willum has created a wonderful setting and he goes to some lengths to make your stay memorable with tips about the local restraunts and tours of the bay of islands. Our biggest disappointment was we only booked 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.2 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
1.2 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing