We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avalon - the name says it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avalon - the name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

You approach the Avalon resort down a winding lane unaware of the wonderful sight you are about to see. The cottages are set in a beautiful valley with several ponds surrounded by weeping wiilows. It truly is the most magical setting we have ever stayed in. The four-poster bed rounded off the overall impression superbly. There are ducks, pigs with piglets and the owners dogs to complete the experience. There are also some excellent restaurants nearby. We would book again in an instant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    24
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
102
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

After 3 nights in extremely mediocre B&Bs in Whangarei we were delighted to arrive in this beautiful accommodation. The decor reflects an up-market Bali feel with huge beds, good linen and a beautiful outlook over the garden. The fully equipped kitchen was a bonus. Willem is a welcoming host and runs an immaculate resort. The ducklings, geese and the Kunikuni pig a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed one night and had an awesome experience. The room was clean and beautifully refurbished. The service was friendly and helpful. It is located conveniently close to Keri Keri town and you can go for walks on their several acre site.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay at the resort in July. The resort is close to kerikeri town centre with restaurants and shops close by. The room facilities were excellent and there the stdio was very spacious - our 4 poster bed was lovely too. We did have no hot water on several occasions and the room was a little noisy at times as their seemed to be some sort of midwifery suite next door - however our overall stay was excellent and we would highly recommend it - the staff were really helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xiamen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I with Jenny stay the magic resort 12 nights in Jul of 2013. We meet the nice host and very friendly animal . The good layout of whole resort and every nice cottage . Special the Air cottage of we stay . the post bed so comfortable and view also very good. We like the pigs to say hi in the every morning the beautiful duck and chicken play with you .We are very enjoy the wonderful holiday in the Avalon Resort . Thank a lot!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in July 2013 in Earth cottage. What can we say more than perfect. Willem (the owner) has obiously put a lot of thought into his resort. Everything you need and a very high quality. The four poster bed was the highlight of a very well thought out cottage. Location is also perfect. On main road just out of town. But set back from the road so completly tranquil.

Can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My son, fiance and I recently stayed at your resort and had an amazing time! It was a lovely place in paradise with a super friendly and helpful owner. The resort was impeccable and we loved the hospitality we received. My son loved the pigs and chickens not to mention the fabulous dvd collections. The transportation service was fantastic and we appreciated the stop to food store too! We had the best time and would recommend this place highly. Thank you for all you did to make our stay so inviting. This was the best place out of our whole trip to New Zealand honestly!

Sincerely,

Guests from Duxbury, Massachusetts USA

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri
Stay Kerikeri
#7 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
1.0 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
3.1 mi away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing