We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful”
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
“Restful”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This gem of a place is very centrally situated on the main road into Kerikeri, yet once you drive down the long drive, busy life disappears and you enter a peaceful world. The piggies and ducks are very excited to see you and the staff are friendly and helpful. The room (we stayed in the Ruby bedroom) is very comfortable (bed, shower, furniture, tv). The balcony area is covered / sheltered, even on a windy and rainy day. The little kitchenette is very well appointed and it is easy to cook a meal as there is also a decent BBQ. Large decking in front of the room, with tables, give you the option to mingle with others.
The pool ..... OMGosh!!! Not saying anything more, but my swimming costume will be out first thing when I get there next time.
Minor niggles:
- the plunger head was broken. They did promise to fix it after we left.
- no metal brush to clean the BBQ.
TIP - take USB with movies - very good set up with TV & DVD, although they have a good selection of movies.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loekie_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
107
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Avalon resort, great location. Excellent hosts, beautiful landscape grounds, with amazing views and natural swimming pool. Loved all the little animals, the piggies are adorable and so sweet. Will definitely visit again in the future. Shame the rest of my holiday wasn't here. Wish I had stayed here all the time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our family had a delightful couple of nights at the Avalon Resort in Kerikeri, and wish it could have been longer. The cottages are modern, well equipped, and spotlessly clean. Only downside might be that the extra beds provided for our teenage children weren't particularly comfortable (apparently!) - but the king size bed in the main bedroom was great. The host was most welcoming and informative, and the complimentary drink on arrival much appreciated! Garden setting is superb, and an atmosphere of peace and tranquility prevails. There are numerous tame animals that call the grounds home (including a family of pigs), and most will drop by your cottage to say hello! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Avalon resort was recommended to us by friends. What a great location. Very nice hosts. Beautiful landscaped grounds with an amazing natural swimming pool!! Our daughter loved all the animals, especially feeding the little piglets, ducks and petting the goats. We would love to come again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Active honeymoon couple, both 30 y/o. First visit to NZ. That nice we stayed an extra night.

Very hospitable, clean and friendly, and peaceful location. Just off the main road that runs through Kerikeri, Avalon resort is centrally located in the Bay of Islands area and no more than 20 mins from the main attractions by car. Our tavel agent had booked us a studio apartment but upon arrival the very friendly Dutch owner, Willem, had upgraded us to a self contained cottage for free. The spring and the grounds that the 5 or so bungalow cottages occupy is beautiful, and very peaceful.

With a few domesticated pigs, chickens and ducks milling around you're never far from nature. The land has a natural spring and in summer one of the ponds is used to bath in, right next to a large communal BBQ area.

The cottages were well equipped and spotless, ours having a large four poster bed with electric blanket, a large bathroom with a walk in shower and sunken bath and a nice open plan lounge/kitchen. The cottages were very cosy on the cool spring nights we were there and had lovely decking that will be great in warmer months. We made use of the TV and Willem had an enormous collection of DVDs should you want to watch any.

The kitchen was equipped with a gas cooker, dishwasher and a fridge with all utensils provided and there is free wifi in each cottage.

Willem was very helpful and made us bookings for dinner/boat trips as well as recommending restaurants and lending us his road map for places to visit. Even when we stayed an extra night he only charged us for the studio rate. We would heartily recommend the Avalon Resort to anyone visiting the area, a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Beautiful accommodation in a spectacular setting. Being given a drink when we arrived was great, as was being given really useful advice on what to do in the area. We only spent 2 days there, and both wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had two nights here and were blown away by the place and the hosts. Really genuinely friendly family who will go out of their way to ensure the time there is enjoyable. Excellent value for money too. Will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceonenicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
8.9 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing