We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr”
Review of Avalon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over winter. The weather was appalling but to be honest it didn't bother us at all, it added to the experience. We turned the heater on and sat looking out at the view all nice and cosy. One night we took the kids for a spa with the rain pouring rain which was a highlight.

Kids also loved the animals, playing in the stream and jumping on the tramp.

The setting is ideal and nice and quiet away from road noise or other people and would suit anyone wanting to get away from it all. That being said it's a short drive to Paihia to experience the Bay of Islands, Waitangi, Opua and Russell. We also did the Cape Reinga day trip with pick up and drop off at the gate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwimunzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
106
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have to travel up North quite a bit for my business and have now reached the point where I won't stay anywhere else. This place is just heaven. Entering one of the cottages after a hard days work is like paradise. The beautiful decor, the massive and so very comfortable four poster bed is just magical. And the surrounding beautiful landscaping is just amazing. I'm a terribly discerning traveller - a libra that's fully affected by my surroundings - so this place is just perfect. Could recommend more highly

Room Tip: Go for one of the 4 cottages - I especially like Earth & Air but Water & Fire are very simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanno2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at Avalon for our honeymoon and loved it. The grounds are lovely complete with ponds, ducks, goats and pigs. The1 owner was very welcoming and the cottages were very well appointed. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Air cottage which was lovely, complete with four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
224 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The bungalows here are perfect to stay in for exploring the far north of North Island.
The bungalows are spacious (we were in "Water") with a covered verandah and outside garden space to relax in.
Very helpful and pleasant owners. Extensive gardens with a river at the bottom of the property.

A good days drive to Cape Reinga/90 mile beach and the big dunes is easily achievable.
Definately recommended.

Room Tip: The bungalows are more private and more spacious than the studios and worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Two couples stayed for 3 nights in January, 2014. We were really impressed with this place. It was clean and very comfortable. Our friends had the bedroom and my husband and I had the couches in the living room. They were actually quite comfortable! We both slept very well. Loved being able to cook for ourselves and enjoyed using the bbq. Eating breakfast on the deck was a great way to start the day! Willem is a great host and has put a lot of work into this place and is very proud of it! You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the moment you enter the beautifully landscaped grounds and spot the goats and pet pigs you know that this is a lovingly tended project. We stayed in two of the rooms with our friends, opposite the spa and the natural spring pool. Everything was perfect and Willem couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as it could be. We were only there for three days and all of us agreed that we could easily have stayed for much, much longer. It is a tiny piece of Paradise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here for 1 night and it was an unplanned travel. I called Willem to ask for the room and asked him if we can check the room ( i was wondering that it will be good or not) . But when i reached there it was just "WOW". we love that place and willem been a great host, so friendly and really accommodating. we got free kayak and we love the river kayak. A NICE, Quite and amazing place for the people who love to explore nature :)

Thank Again willem for making our stay memorable, i am sure that we will come back :)

Room Tip: If you go to bay of island then make sure you don't miss to stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.9 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
10.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.1 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
0.5 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
7.5 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Property: Avalon Resort
Address: 340A Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a small boutique resort with self-contained serviced cottages and studio units, facing the golf course. Described as a little paradise and piece of heaven by many travellers, our 7 acre property features natural springs, waterfalls, lakes and river where you can kayaking. Our secluded valley has the feel of a nature retreat, but is close to shops, restaurants and various attractions in Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands. Set at the top of the valley, the stylish self contained cottages offer elevated views over the beautiful property. The deck, as well the large windows, allow one to be fully immersed in nature both inside and outside. With a king bed in the bedroom and 2 sofa-beds in the lounge, the unit can sleep up to 4 guests. The cosy self-contained studio rooms are located near the lush gardens around the Oasis pool complex. They sleep 2 or 3 guests and can be adjoined for families. Our studios all have an en-suite bathroom, a kitchenette and a private covered deck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Kerikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing