We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were unable to get accommodation on the night we had booked through Wotif due to a double up when we booked, so we were offered a studio on a different night free of charge. This place exceeded our expectations, it is so central yet you feel as though you a away from it all. The surrounding trees and plantings are very special. The studio was very clean and upmarket looking, The bed was extremely comfortable and the pool and spa were a real real treat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

My sister and I came to NZ to celebrate her 65th birthday. We'd only planned on spending one night here but were so charmed by both the hosts and the location that we added a night. Most of the guests spent several nights, many were returnees. The location is easy to find, really important to non-Kiwis. It is spotless, quiet, surrounded by forest with a walking trail down to a creek. Tony and Wendi were so friendly and helpful, very informative, we loved them! Tony's Bar is the place to hang out in the eveniing and the dinner they prepared for us was the best we had the entire trip, both in taste and value. The hot tub was a perfect end to a day of seeing the sights! Very quiet, well-run place, off the highway with no noisy neighbors! This was the best stay of our entire 2+ week trip!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side to have a great garden deck to have breakfast on!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

What a wonderful review, thank you. Wasn't it great that you stayed another night, we too can't wait for your return and thanks for the yummy recipe, it is a fav on the BBq.

Wendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed three nights here with friends from Auckland. Excellent rooms and location. Toni and Wendy couldn't have been more helpful.
This was my first experience of New Zealand motels and one of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edcullatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review, very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that the rest of your time in NZ was just as great as Northland.

Kind Regards,
Wendi and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We chose this venue because it looked a bit alternative and offered good value. We were not disappointed. The location is super, surrounded by trees, the rooms were very nice and the welcome given by Tony and Wendi was just what we needed after a long drive. We ate at Woodlands the first night until we got our bearings round Kerikeri, and had a super meal. The rooms were comprehensively equipped and there is a laundry where clothes can be washed for a modest sum. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with a deck at the rear of the site, some did not have this facility
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Many thanks for your great review, I know totally what you mean about it being alternative,
that is exactly what appealed to us when looking for something different. Glad that you enjoyed our choice.

All the best,
Wendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a gorgeous little motel. Our room and all the facilities were spotlessly clean and the communal kitchen was very well equipped. The pool was clean and quiet and the hot tub very welcome! The owners worked hard to run the place and one could tell they cared a lot about it. They were lovely, friendly people. It was in a great location, within easy walking distance of extensive amenities in Kerikeri. In context of other stays around NZ this was also amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and glad that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise, we are very lucky and end up with the most loveliest guests like yourselves.
Thank you for choosing Woodlands and take care.

Wendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Thank you very very much Wendi. I would & have recommended your motel to everyone on my Facebook. Rick & I have stayed in numerous motels but none as tranquil, peaceful or welcoming as yours. Apart from that great big green moth with dragon thing on it's back you have a 10 out of 10 establishment, if I could rate it higher I would. We will be coming back & this time a lot longer. You knew I was sick when we arrived & you did everything you could to make sure I was ok & comfortable. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our stay the best. xxx

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bushes are the best ever !!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Oh how awesome, what a wonderful review, thank you so much, it was just a real shame
that you where so ill - I just hope that you now have done something about it.
As for Monty he always greets our guests. Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Wendi and Monty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Woodlands Motel within the past six months, and I can't not, not rave about this gorgeous place. Its the service and care from the owners that is quite exceptional, and having travel internationally alot, I think we can be very proud of Wendi and Tony, as quite remarkable Kiwi ambassadors.Last week Wendi was away for a few days, and left Tony to manage. One night we decided to have dinner in the dining room and Tony left the bar to cook us a really yummy dinner,and then had to rush to the desk to check in new guests then back the bar, then back to the kitchen. He did this with such good grace and lots of humour. The new quest asked him if this was Faulty Towers we all shouted no way....
If you are planning to come to New Zealand and to the North,you will be doing yourself a great favour, and you will enjoy genuine friendly kiwi hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveroflife40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsmotel, Owner at Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very for much for your wonderful review and I do hope
that "Basil" did his best in looking after you all! Till the next visit.

Many thanks and Kind Regards,
Wendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.1 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.4 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue

Address: 126 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range: £29 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business travelers, weekend getaways and tourists alike, Woodlands is just a short stroll from Kerikeri cafes, restaurants and boutique shopping. Fantastic value with facilities and accommodation styles to suit a range of needs. Enjoy a relaxed stay in a native bush setting and informal environment. Conference facilities are available for business meetings, weddings and group functions including catering and bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing