We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend when visiting Kerikeri”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial House Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend when visiting Kerikeri”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Over the last 6 months I have stayed at Colonial House a number of times for business and once for a personal stay. The owners have been very friendly and know everyone by their first name. You receive wine, cookies and milk on arrival which is a nice touch. The units are spotless and a number of them have been renovated. The location is very central in Kerikeri. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    26
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
62
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Andrea welcomed us with a glass of wine, cookies, and a choice of milk and soy milk. We stayed in one of the Studios that had been recently renovated; it was spotless, just like brand new. We can't say enough about how enjoyable our short stay was; Alan and Andrea are perfect hosts and, being well traveled themselves, know just what travelers require.

The location is quiet and set amongst tropical plantings. We were very pleased with the Eco-friendliness; recycling was actively encouraged with specific recycle bins in the car port and the shower had a low flow shower head.

Alan and Andrea are a charming couple and made us really feel like family; very well done. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this location to anyone staying in the Bay of Islands area.

Room Tip: Contact Andrea and she will help you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Andrea & Alan are very welcoming and friendly offering cookies and chocolates, even a glass of wine. Our unit was very new inside, spotlessly clean and comfortable. TV reception was great, also the variety of channels to watch was good. Just a stones throw ( well sort of) down to the best restaurant (The pear tree) in Kerikeri. Love he cat! The only things to watch out for are ants and mozzies, I would suggest changing the spray can under the kitchen sink for a lighter spray as we had to clean the walls as it was such a thick spray! And get rid of the ladies make-up wipes they don't cleanse very well. And the one BIG dislike are shampoo/conditioner sachets, please have separate ones's, all NZ natural of course :-)

Overall excellent value for money, would definitely go back again and pass on to friends to stay there.

Thanks Andrea & Alan

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here as a family for two nights and found the accommodation to be both comfortable and convenient. Our hosts where very helpful and knowlegable and the wine, chocolates and home baked cookies were a pleasant suprise. Would recommend this accommodation to anybody travelling to this beautiful part of the North Island.

Room Tip: Room we stayed in (near Pool) had large window where sun shone through and had no covering so made t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

...when I say that we were very lucky to discover this gem nestled in KeriKeri.
After spending a night in atrocious accommodation, we checked out and moved on short of our 2 night stay, in the hope that better adccommodation lay ahead of us - and it did!
We were pleasantly greeted by our hosts and shown a gorgeous wee room, complete with all the comforts of home that we needed. 5 minutes after settling down, we were bought cookies and wine - such a lovely touch! I was also pleased to be given Soy milk, as so often this does not happen.
We used the BBQ to cook our tea on and went for a short swim in the pool and chatted to fellow guests - all very pleasant. Andrea got out there are few minutes before the swim and scooped out any stray leaves.
Outr stay was nothing short of comfortable and welcoming and we not only recommend the Colonial House to any other travellers, but we thank our hosts again too.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant or fitness centre which is why I've omitted it from my rating. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_and_Andrea, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you were comfortable and felt 'at home'. We like to offer a choice of fresh milk including soy milk.
Lets hope that you can come back soon.
Andrea, Alan, and PussPuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The room we stayed in had been completely refurbished and although very small was light, bright and welcoming. Our hosts, Alan & Andrea were very welcoming and went the extra mile to make sure our visit was an enjoyable one. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for accommodation handy to the tourist activities on offer in Kerikeri. We were able to walk to the Pear Tree Restaurant and enjoy a drink & meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_and_Andrea, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our motel. It is very appreciated, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay here - and many thanks for the recommendation!

Please come and see us next time you visit our great little town of Kerikeri.

Andrea, Alan, and PussPuss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Staying 6 nights away is a chunky part of your holiday right? So we wanted to make sure we found accommodation that was going to be perfect. Did we find it here? YES.

Once we were shown to our room I was immeadiately in love with... the carpet! Yes, strange perhaps. But honestly, it was the softest I had felt in years!

I was very happy with our room and the small decking was very cute. I loved that fact that when you looked at the ranch slider, all you could see was the trees and greenery. No one else, so it felt very private. The bathroom sink must have been new because I was intrigued by the push plug system. I had some trouble the first few goes with getting the shower temprature to stay put. But then, it was probably me, that happens where ever I go, even at home sometimes!

There was also a plug in frying pan type thing (not sure of its real name) and a one man plug in element. We cooked twice during our stay and they worked fine. Just a tip, don't cook with the saucepan lid on the element. Eg. Potatoes/Pasta. The water freaks out and spills over the lid on to the bench top. Take the lid away, cooks perfectly!

The pool was paradise! Quite a few hours was spent just shading under the palm tree and swimming. It was water that warmed very quick if you were a bit cold first getting in. So on hot days it was heaven. The spa was also amazing.

Andrea and Alan were very friendly and helpful hosts. Andrea kindly arranged our day trip to Cape Reinga for us and they both took an interest in what we were doing each day. Puss Puss as well made it feel more homely. I think every place should have a cat walking around :)

So we fully enjoyed our time at the Colonial House Motel. And are 6 nights closer to reaching our $100 off at a "Host Accommodation" spot.

Thank you very much for a lovely holiday :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn_256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_and_Andrea, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you so much Robyn for your wonderful review. It is really lovely when guests stay with us for several days and we get to know each other.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Cape Reinga trip - something to remember!
We also love the carpet, 11mm underlay and luxury pile says it all.
PussPuss is in her box - not thinking too much we guess, just sleeping. She thanks you for the cool photo!
We hope you can visit us again, with many thanks
Andrea, Alan and PussPuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.3 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
1.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
8.8 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
2.2 mi away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Property: Colonial House Motel
Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. 50+Digital channels. Cosy & quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool, hot tub spa, and new friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing