We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial House Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We are a family with a young kid. We had a wonderful stay in the motel for a week last summer.

The hosts Andrea and Alan were a sweet couple who welcomed us with home baked cookies and house wine. They were also very helpful explaining the attractions in and near Kerikeri. I had asked for a humidifier when booking and it was placed in our room and left running before we arrived. (It didn't really feel humid without humidifier and there were no mosquitoes - contrary to my anticipations from reading other reviews.)

The motel is close to most attractions in Kerikeri. It's not far from Paihia. And if you have a car, it's convenient to go to the Kerikeri town centre for grocery and restaurants. Kerikeri is a lot more sophisticated than Paihia. Free wifi was convenient. Sky TV was also handy. I personally appreciated the history that came with the motel - owned by a missionary doctor. Our little one loved the salt water pool. The outdoor spa was also nice. The gardens were carefully maintained, it was relaxing to eat in the little garden in front of our unit although it was a bit crowded for four. There wasn't a full kitchen. But Andrea had explained it before I booked so it wasn't unexpected.

I understand Andrea and Alan have recently upgraded the motel quite a bit. It definitely shows. For the same price it's hard to find nice places like this. However, I wouldn't mind paying extra for air conditioning: our unit would get quite hot and stuffy in the afternoon with the setting sun; and better airflow in the bathroom would be nice: the shower drapes smelled a bit mouldy when we first arrived.

Overall though, it was a very memorable and enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend it if you're looking for somewhere homely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jguo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    25
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
61
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Nice clean accommodation and friendly hosts. Three of us ventured north to play golf at kuari cliffs. All apartments are separate with car port. Not really easy walking to town however great restaurant next door. Has nice clean pool and served its purpose well

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonoclarkhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived reasonably late one evening, after many non vacancies, to find this wonderfully tucked away Motel. The hosts accommodated us with a discounted (internet price) spa room, and treated us with complimentary wine and home made easter cookies. The room was wonderful, the carpet, bathroom and kitchenware was new, the spa bath was great after a long drive, the bed very comfy and the heaters / electric blankies worked very well. Great to see mosquito nets, the outdoor pool looked very nice but it was a rainy day for us to try it. Overall the place has a magic cottage feel by being secluded and amongst mature garden. Only bit of advice to the lovely hosts would be to perhaps add an 'entry' sign at the beginning of the narrow driveway as we passed it a couple of times and it didn't seem like the main entrance; and perhaps have some movie channels rather than all the sport. We loved our short stay there and would definitely come back to room number 6 :) Marc & Tany

Room Tip: Fantastic place to stay (room 6) comfy and new. Entry is on the corner where the sign is. The rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mookielala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful grounds, wonderful swimming pool and charming hosts. The location is a short walk from wonderful restaurants, the Stonehouse and many other attractions. Good Internet, clean rooms and a cute kitchen if you would rather eat in. Andrea and Alan, the owners are extremely sweet and helpful. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were fortunate enough to pick the Colonial House Motel this weekend, the couple were just amazing to deal with. Being from Auckland we did not arrive till very late Friday night, they were so accommodating and waited for our arrival, couldnt ask for better hosts.

The room was spacious and perfect for just the two of us, immaculate and clean, large spa bath after a long day, ideal for business or pleasure trips.

We would happily recommend this lovely motel to any travellers, and we look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Studio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
195 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The location is good for visiting the Stonehouse and also the nearby Pear Tree restaurant, both within easy walking distance. The welcome from the South African owner could not have been better, made more so by the offer of a drink & homemade cake. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The pool was good and clean despite a cyclone the previous day, as was the spa pool. Very reasonable rates and our room would have slept six, although perhaps a little tight. The grounds were well maintained and very peaceful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Andrea and Alan made us very welcome and were extremely helpful with planning our stay in the Bay of Islands. We had a spacious 1 bed apartment with good facilities, located only a short walk from the Stone Cottage. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.3 mi away
Stay Kerikeri
Stay Kerikeri
#7 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
2.2 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
0.7 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
4.6 mi away
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Property: Colonial House Motel
Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi. 50+Digital channels. Cosy & quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool, hot tub spa, and new friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing