We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, peaceful outlook”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

New hosts had only been there a few months but were very welcoming and obliging. Unit 1 was very comfortable albeit aged. It was reasonably warm during my stay (2 nights) so the wooden construction meant that as the timber cooled down there were some very loud bangs during the night - not the best for a good night's sleep but I would certainly go back there again as everything else about the motel was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2kiwis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

We have stayed at the Homestead before and were so pleased with the accomodation that it was our first choice for a return visit. It is very central but quiet, is set in lovely grounds and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The 2 bedroom apartment is worth the extra money even for two people. The managers were particularly helpful and friendly. If you want a home from home type of place this can be recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannetteMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

was just average, water pressure not great, lockwood contruction and made some weird banging noises at night that came from roof, hubby says thats what wooden buildings do when they expanding and contracting, was over the top thou and didnt get any sleep because the noises were that bad they woke you up during the night every couple of hours or so

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wapid, Owner at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
Some of our standard rooms are of a Lockwood construction and when there is a large temperature drop over night the wood contracts and causing a sound. Although this is only occasional we understand you experienced it and can only apologise for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed a night on our cycling holiday - the hosts could not have been more welcoming and friendly. They stored our bikes securely in the garage overnight and provided helpful advice for our ride to Kaikohe the following day.
The family unit was fine for the 4 of us with a nice little balcony to relax on, and a comfortable lounge area for watching TV or reading
Despite the fact that it absolutely bucketed down rain overnight (didn't know it rained like that in NZ) we enjoyed Kerikeri. The hotel was well located - an easy walk to town and there was a good choice of restaurants and local sightseeing attractions. When we return we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

large comfortable room built like a pine cabin with high roof just 2 mins walk from town centre but very quiet. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. Some of the fixtures and fitting were a little tired though.
Chris the manager was excellent in his local advice and provided free access to his printer and fax machine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Rooms are very spacious and outlook on to lawns and pool is very pleasant.
Situated behind the local "pub" but quiet and a short walk to a selection of shops including quality resaurants. Friendly obliging Management.
The only down side is the noise of the Lockwood construction. The timber pops as the outside temperature changes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrantBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The room and bathroom was very nice, the only disadvantage of the place made from wood was occassional lockwood screaching noise and noise from the next room. Lovely outdoor seating overlooking a nice garden. In the centre of Kerikeri, close to good cafes&pubs and the real estate&banks&solicitors - important for us since we came to see the properties. Worked very well for us - we've bought a beautiful house! ( Can recommend Esmae&Sandra from the Bayleys Real Estate). Very helpful staff of the motel - gave us a bigger TV to watch rugby NZ-Australia, provided better ironing board&iron after we mentioned the problem with the current one, gave us lot of good advice re the Kerikeri area and our journey up to the Cape Reinga. Reasonably priced for what it offers.

Room Tip: Try to ask, if possible, for more "private"room to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorskaVydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.7 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#6 of 16 in Kerikeri
135 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
8.7 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments

Address: 17 Homestead Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range: £74 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments is the only fully serviced apartment complex right in the centre of Kerikeri township. Situated on three acres of tranquil park like grounds, this unique Four-Star-Plus motel is just a moment's walk from fantastic cafes, restaurants and bars and an ideal base from which to explore the Far North.We seek to provide each guest with a memorable experience with warm and sincere service and special attention to the finest details. Corporate guests can enjoy free unlimited broadband, generous work stations, and sumptuous breakfast to start the day. Our relaxed setting also provides an ideal setting for romantic interludes, family holidays or large groups. Enjoy relaxing poolside and starry nights soaking in the hot outdoor spa.Your hosts Michelle and Herb look forward to welcoming you to the Kerikeri Homestead Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing