We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The room looked very nice with wooden ceilings and walls, there is a very decent size swimming pool and a spa. The only/main issue i had was the walls and ceilings are very thin so you can hear almost everything other guests are doing. had to use earplugs to have a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btticecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. Perhaps on your next visit we can accommodate you in one of our new apartments as these are completely soundproof. We apologise for any inconvenience and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    70
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
64
66
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Unfortunately we only had limited time to stay in Kerikeri.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The motel is located close to shopping center and good reastaurants.
The appartments are comfortable and in a quiet garden area with pool and spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Excellent accommodation - beautiful apartments & grounds. The husband was extremely polite and welcoming and even kept the desk open a little later to accommodate our late arrival. The gourmet breakfast was nice. We had a lovely stay. That is, until we went to pay the bill and the wife dishonestly attempted to over charge us by $80. When we queried things, the wife attempted to put the blame on us over a number of items and huffed before conceding that she was wrong on three different billed items. There was no apology and her behaviour was really appalling. It was a disappointing end to what was otherwise a great stay. Our advice to others though (if you intend to stay) is check your bill - do not expect honesty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our stunning new accommodation, gourmet breakfast and the relaxed setting.

I am sorry that you feel there has been any dishonesty. To be clear, you actually booked a Premium Apartment online (not an Executive Apartment), for which you were sent an automated email confirmation on 31st January confirming the price. However despite this, it appears that you were genuinely under the impression that you booked and were staying in the less expensive Executive Apartment, which was not the case. We subsequently discounted the rate in recognition of this misunderstanding, reflecting our commitment to guest satisfaction. We do apologise for any inconvenience and are changing our policy to ensure that guests are aware of the nightly tariff printed on the registration form that is signed as part of the check-in process.

With regard to the breakfast overcharge, this was my fault. We have recently changed the way we charge for extras and I unknowingly made a genuine mistake on the invoice, for which I am sorry. We hope that your next stay will be a better experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was our second stay at this motel and decided to book one of the new executive studio rooms. Just awesome, exactly how it was described on their website, it had everything we needed for our three day visit.
Friendly staff, as before, they make you feel very welcome. Location is very good with only a short walk to many different restaurants, cafes and shops. Will be going back again soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

A single nights stay here in the lovely town of Kerikeri. Very helpful staff and the motel is well located within the town only a short walk to the main shopping centre and restaurants. The motel is contained within a quiet garden setting and each unit has a nice outdoor area with table and chairs so the outdoors can be enjoyed. The rooms are a little dated, but are immaculately clean and contain good facilities with plenty of room to more around. This is a good place to stay and well recommended with a fair price per room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. I have let the staff know of your comments and thanked them for their effort.
We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Unfortunately our stay here was tarnished by us getting what the managers called the " access unit" for people with mobility issues and not the "wood panelled room with private patio" that we had booked. While the owners gave us a 10% refund of $43 after I complained to lastminute.com, they claimed they had offered to move us. Not the case and don't get stuck with Unit 8, which is no where near as nice a the others and you wouldn't be able to fit a wheelchair in if needed.

Room Tip: Check that you are getting what you've booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, Manager at Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
We thank you for your feedback. Given the private nature of this lovely stand alone unit, with its private deck and secluded feel, most guests are actually delighted to be allocated this unit! We appreciate everyone is different though, and take your point that the unit booked online was not what was expected. We can only apologise that it did not meet your expectations.
As discussed with you at the time, had you brought this issue to our attention at the time of check in, we would have been able to relocate you. Unfortunately once we were aware of the issue, we were fully occupied and had no relocation options, hence the discount offered. We are changing the online allocation with the website concerned to avoid this happening in the future. We hope that you will return and perhaps stay in one of the brand new fully self contained apartments next time you are in Kerikeri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We were very lucky to have one Of the new apartments that is so well equiped with great cooking facilities and I was very spoilt with all the little details.
This brand new apartment is so well thought out.
The host and staff are fabulous.
The swimming pool was wonderful.
So convenient to all this beautiful area has to offer.
We will definitely come back.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tippytoppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.7 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.4 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments

Property: Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
Address: 17 Homestead Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments is the only fully serviced apartment complex right in the centre of Kerikeri township. Situated on three acres of tranquil park like grounds, this unique Four-Star-Plus motel is just a moment's walk from fantastic cafes, restaurants and bars and an ideal base from which to explore the Far North.We seek to provide each guest with a memorable experience with warm and sincere service and special attention to the finest details. Corporate guests can enjoy free unlimited broadband, generous work stations, and sumptuous breakfast to start the day. Our relaxed setting also provides an ideal setting for romantic interludes, family holidays or large groups. Enjoy relaxing poolside and starry nights soaking in the hot outdoor spa.Your hosts Michelle and Herb look forward to welcoming you to the Kerikeri Homestead Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing