We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodation”
Review of Relax a Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relax a Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were extremely pleased that we chose to stay at Keri Keri farm hostel. We stayed in Tangelo Cottage. The cabin was immaculate and furnished with everything we could possibly need. Steffen was very helpful and friendly. Our little daughter loved the farm environment and was highly amused by the animals. The main farm house was lovely too - looked like one of the best places I have seen from my backpacker days. A towel hook/rail in the bathroom would have been useful, but a very minor quibble for what is a 5* place. Thanks for a fantastic stay. We will no doubt be staying again next time we visit Keri Keri.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We all wished we had booked to stay longer at the KeriKeri Farm Hostel. We arrived to a warm welcome and a personal tour, and then were shown our rooms in the brand new cottage. It was lovely. Clean and spacious, furnished with new decor. The hot water and great water pressure was divine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyGolightly137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKL
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I've stayed there for 22 days (13-Dec to 4-Jan). It is the best hostel I've stayed, even It is better then some motels. I think I'm so lucky to choice there for my last stop before I leave NZ. And It was sooooo nice to meet lot of nice people there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnHsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at Kerikeri Farm Hostel (Valencia Cottage) for 4 nights and had a great time there. Fresh oranges, friendly staff, curious dogs and close enough to everything in the North.

The cottage itself was very clean and well furnished, we basically had everything we needed except an electric fan (it was summer).

Overall I would highly recommend it, even other guests staying there agreed it was one of the best hostels they have stayed at in New Zealand.

Room Tip: The Valencia Cottage is really nice, but there really isn't much of a view as the orange trees g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ervinelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had an amazing stay at kerkeri farm hostel. Our hosts Steffen and Aya were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a self contained cottage surrounded by orange trees which was comfortable with basics amenities provided.
Our favorite part of the stay was playing with the farm dog Nika. She is extremely friendly and took us all over the orchard as a guide.
We would definitely stay at this place during our next visit. Highly recommended, especially families.
Don't forget to taste the mandarins and oranges there, they are the best.
Cheers
Abhi & Niv

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivbhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmhostel, Manager at Relax a Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it!

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wishing you all the best for 2013!

Cheers
Aya & Steffen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have stayed in many backpackers in NZ over the past decade and this is by far the best. It is relaxed, welcoming and homely. The owners are superb - friendly and hospitable. The room was clean and spacious. I travelled with my daughter and Kerikeri Farm Hostel is a wonderful stop for families. The swimming pool is a definite bonus along with the chickens and the dogs. I have already recommended this place to my friends and family. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_and_Tia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmhostel, Manager at Relax a Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Many thanks fro your positive feedback and Best Wishes for 2013. we are still enjoying the pool :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

It is one of the best hostel I have ever stayed in NZ. Spacious room, super clean kitchen and toilets, relaxing atmosphere, almost unlimited WiFi internet access, lovely animals and welcoming dogs! I wish I could stay there longer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindanwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmhostel, Manager at Relax a Lodge, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave these lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you both! We do try to make our hostel as homely, cozy and comfy as we can. Hopefully we will see you again next time you're in Kerikeri. Safe travels and enjoy your trip around this beautiful country.

Warm regards,
Aya & Steffen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
2.4 mi away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
2.0 mi away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
2.7 mi away
Pagoda Lodge
Pagoda Lodge
#7 of 27 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax a Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax a Lodge

Property: Relax a Lodge
Address: 1574 Springbank Road, Kerikeri 0293, New Zealand (Formerly Kerikeri Farm Hostel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax a Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
»Come to find a little paradise.....«We are happy to welcome you in a cosy hostel with loads of character. Surrounded by our organic orange and mandarin orchard. We offer a wonderfully relaxing base for exploring the Bay of Islands and the Far North. Enjoy the atmosphere of a roaring fire. Relax on our spacious terrace while the sun is setting, swim in the pool or just sit back, relax and watch the oranges grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relax a Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing